Skype in Dubai

Old May 23rd 2006, 7:06 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
stufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to all
Default Skype in Dubai

Last week Skype seemed to stop walking in Dubai. I was wondering whether anyone else is having a problem. Instant messaging works, voice does not. The call gets killed five seconds after going to voice mode even on skype to skype calls which is supposedly legal.
stufried is offline  
Old May 23rd 2006, 8:20 am
  #2  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: dubai
Posts: 160
barsha barbie has much to be proud ofbarsha barbie has much to be proud ofbarsha barbie has much to be proud ofbarsha barbie has much to be proud ofbarsha barbie has much to be proud ofbarsha barbie has much to be proud ofbarsha barbie has much to be proud ofbarsha barbie has much to be proud ofbarsha barbie has much to be proud ofbarsha barbie has much to be proud ofbarsha barbie has much to be proud of
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Originally Posted by stufried
Last week Skype seemed to stop walking in Dubai. I was wondering whether anyone else is having a problem. Instant messaging works, voice does not. The call gets killed five seconds after going to voice mode even on skype to skype calls which is supposedly legal.
seems to be ok - just a really bad line!
barsha barbie is offline  
Old May 23rd 2006, 8:23 am
  #3  
Loading...
 
Welivehere's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Back in the sand
Posts: 1,279
Welivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Originally Posted by stufried
Last week Skype seemed to stop walking in Dubai. I was wondering whether anyone else is having a problem. Instant messaging works, voice does not. The call gets killed five seconds after going to voice mode even on skype to skype calls which is supposedly legal.
I noticed the same, but just thought my PC was having a div.... Haven't used it for a few days so will try again tonight and let you know if the problem persists...
Welivehere is offline  
Old May 23rd 2006, 10:53 am
  #4  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
stufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to all
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Originally Posted by Welivehere
I noticed the same, but just thought my PC was having a div.... Haven't used it for a few days so will try again tonight and let you know if the problem persists...
I just noticed that today's Gulf News was on all about the improvements Etisilat was introducing and how it plans on launching its own VOIP service. I frankly don't understand why the price of my international call should change based on how my phone connects to the great Golf Ball.

http://www.gulfnews.com/home/index.html

Note also that while they promise cheaper international rates, they won't say how much.
stufried is offline  
Old Jun 20th 2006, 5:54 pm
  #5  
UAE Expat
 
Frans Wind's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 3,393
Frans Wind has much to be proud ofFrans Wind has much to be proud ofFrans Wind has much to be proud ofFrans Wind has much to be proud ofFrans Wind has much to be proud ofFrans Wind has much to be proud ofFrans Wind has much to be proud ofFrans Wind has much to be proud ofFrans Wind has much to be proud ofFrans Wind has much to be proud ofFrans Wind has much to be proud of
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Originally Posted by stufried
Last week Skype seemed to stop walking in Dubai. I was wondering whether anyone else is having a problem. Instant messaging works, voice does not. The call gets killed five seconds after going to voice mode even on skype to skype calls which is supposedly legal.
A tip perhaps? With "Remote assistant" and a few tricks, you can activate Skype from a PC anywhere in the world. Link your PC up to that PC and call your (I assume) UK number. 100% legal and you bypass a few UAE restictions. Oldest trick in the book. Or even better? With remote assistant activate a voice over internet provider account, which most European internet providers allow, even promote. I use it, Amsterdam to Dubai for about € 0.01 per minute from anywhere on this planet. Even China!!!

Or even better, get a VOIP phone. Your PC doesn't even have to be switched on. The box works in the UAE as I have tried it. Phone calls work like a dream. Careful though, might want to look into the rates as they can differ from provider to provider. All you need is a rather good broadband connection. Or someone that has one and a good router.

Frans

Last edited by Frans Wind; Jun 20th 2006 at 6:06 pm.
Frans Wind is offline  
Old Jul 18th 2006, 8:29 pm
  #6  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
stufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to allstufried is a name known to all
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Skype is working again here. It is interesting to compare this thread with the thread about Qatar. From everyone who I've talked to, Etisilat is blocking more stuff that Tecom. Also, apparently more people are having problems in Abu Dhabi than they are in Dubai (even on Etisilat).

Stu
stufried is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.