Skype in Dubai?

Old Feb 21st 2005, 3:55 am
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
BrendanRyan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Skype in Dubai?

Any of you folks use Skype? Can you use Skype-Out without being blocked by the government-run internet providers?

I know iChat AV is fine, cause I have used it from there... thanks for any advice you can offer.
BrendanRyan is offline  
Old Feb 21st 2005, 4:11 am
  #2  
semarang
 
novita77's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: sand dune
Posts: 7,763
novita77 has a reputation beyond reputenovita77 has a reputation beyond reputenovita77 has a reputation beyond reputenovita77 has a reputation beyond reputenovita77 has a reputation beyond reputenovita77 has a reputation beyond reputenovita77 has a reputation beyond reputenovita77 has a reputation beyond reputenovita77 has a reputation beyond reputenovita77 has a reputation beyond reputenovita77 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skype in Dubai?

Originally Posted by BrendanRyan
Any of you folks use Skype? Can you use Skype-Out without being blocked by the government-run internet providers?

I know iChat AV is fine, cause I have used it from there... thanks for any advice you can offer.
I can use skype no problem in Qatar. If u go to expatwoman.com middle east section and search for skype, u will find some posts mentioning abt skype. As far as i remember u can use skype in the UAE. But i won't be surprise they might block the skype out in the future.
novita77 is offline  
Old Feb 21st 2005, 4:11 am
  #3  
Bob
BE Site Lead
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 92,167
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skype in Dubai?

Do a search, I'm pretty sure someone was asking about voip services....and I think skype works.
Bob is offline  
Old Feb 21st 2005, 9:48 am
  #4  
The Oracle
 
Face81's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 7,220
Face81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Skype in Dubai?

Originally Posted by BrendanRyan
Any of you folks use Skype? Can you use Skype-Out without being blocked by the government-run internet providers?

I know iChat AV is fine, cause I have used it from there... thanks for any advice you can offer.
hi BrendanRyan, welcome to the site.

yes, skype does work in Dubai with no problem at all.
Face81 is offline  
Old Feb 21st 2005, 12:14 pm
  #5  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
BrendanRyan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Skype in Dubai?

Thanks all!

I searched for Skype, and nobody distinguished between computer->computer and computer->phone. It's the later option I am most fond of.

I just wanted to check. It would be a real drag if they blocked it!
BrendanRyan is offline  
Old Feb 21st 2005, 12:22 pm
  #6  
The Oracle
 
Face81's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 7,220
Face81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Skype in Dubai?

Originally Posted by BrendanRyan
Thanks all!

I searched for Skype, and nobody distinguished between computer->computer and computer->phone. It's the later option I am most fond of.

I just wanted to check. It would be a real drag if they blocked it!
relax....... last time I checked, it wasnt blocked.
Face81 is offline  
Old Feb 21st 2005, 12:49 pm
  #7  
Its all good
 
Fairydust's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Dubai
Posts: 7,650
Fairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skype in Dubai?

Originally Posted by BrendanRyan
Thanks all!

I searched for Skype, and nobody distinguished between computer->computer and computer->phone. It's the later option I am most fond of.

I just wanted to check. It would be a real drag if they blocked it!
No I use it all the time for both options and its fine
Fairydust is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.