Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Is a Saudi Iqama a Residence Permit or a Work Permit?

Is a Saudi Iqama a Residence Permit or a Work Permit?

Old Jul 10th 2010, 7:19 am
Banned

Bijilo123 has a reputation beyond reputeBijilo123 has a reputation beyond reputeBijilo123 has a reputation beyond reputeBijilo123 has a reputation beyond reputeBijilo123 has a reputation beyond reputeBijilo123 has a reputation beyond reputeBijilo123 has a reputation beyond reputeBijilo123 has a reputation beyond reputeBijilo123 has a reputation beyond reputeBijilo123 has a reputation beyond reputeBijilo123 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is a Saudi Iqama a Residence Permit or a Work Permit?

[QUOTE=shikra;8676178]Dear Prwatts,

If I am hired as an Engineer, my Iqama would be more powerful and I will enjoy more privileges. I can get high salaries, visit GCC countries without Visa (For limited number of days).

QUOTE]

That is interesting - so If I had an engineers Iqama and as a British Citizen then I could go to Oman for a weekend and not pay for the visa on arrival at Muscat. But my brother coming from Bahrain would have to pay?

That sounds a very unusual degree of generosity. In effect the Iqama has become, although not its main purpoise, like a Shengen visa allowing free travel between Schengen states in Europe.

I have a Gambian ID card which allows me free travel in Ecowas countries which, if travelling in Ecowas countries appeals, is extremely useful and saves real hassle with visas.
Old Jul 10th 2010, 8:43 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace