Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

Old Nov 4th 2008, 3:47 am
  #1  
jia
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 79
jia is an unknown quantity at this point
Default SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

we will be moving to Riyadh at the end of nov ,and i am wondering what sort of satellite packages or providers are their for american and canadian channels.i know showtime and orbit in dubai but dont know if they are in riyadh.also if you guys know of any other providers plz let me know.i searches on the net and nothing comes up for saudi.I hope they have american channels and news there.

the other question is ,which bank is the best to transfer money to canada from riyadh, we have to send money back home to cover the mortgage and other stuff etc.we have to open our bank account and your advice will help us in making the decission.
jia is offline  
Old Nov 4th 2008, 3:49 am
  #2  
Concierge
 
Blue Cat's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 29,625
Blue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

Showtime is available in KSA
Blue Cat is offline  
Old Nov 4th 2008, 3:57 am
  #3  
jia
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 79
jia is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

Thank you Blue cat
jia is offline  
Old Nov 4th 2008, 4:06 am
  #4  
Just Joined
 
spanky's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 19
spanky is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

I use www.3click.tv and stream it. It's the first broadband tv site I found that works well. Theres 8000 episodes, ad free and complete series! But whats really cool is they pick up new shows within a few hours of their debut so it's the best option around these parts. It really works well. I would be curious if anyone that has an iPhone could rate the service. They supposedly stream right to the phone PC or Mac.
I connect direct to my TV and the audio/video quality is perfect.

good luck


cheers
spanky is offline  
Old Nov 4th 2008, 4:11 am
  #5  
jia
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 79
jia is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

which internet provider you use. my husband is having a hard time getting a DSL.can you recommend a good and fast company.
jia is offline  
Old Nov 4th 2008, 5:45 am
  #6  
Just Joined
 
spanky's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 19
spanky is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

Naseej is what I use, where do you live?

Last edited by spanky; Nov 4th 2008 at 5:47 am.
spanky is offline  
Old Nov 4th 2008, 6:42 am
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Moved to Mirdif
Posts: 319
Alen1 has a reputation beyond reputeAlen1 has a reputation beyond reputeAlen1 has a reputation beyond reputeAlen1 has a reputation beyond reputeAlen1 has a reputation beyond reputeAlen1 has a reputation beyond reputeAlen1 has a reputation beyond reputeAlen1 has a reputation beyond reputeAlen1 has a reputation beyond reputeAlen1 has a reputation beyond reputeAlen1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

Originally Posted by spanky View Post
I use www.3click.tv and stream it. It's the first broadband tv site I found that works well. Theres 8000 episodes, ad free and complete series! But whats really cool is they pick up new shows within a few hours of their debut so it's the best option around these parts. It really works well. I would be curious if anyone that has an iPhone could rate the service. They supposedly stream right to the phone PC or Mac.
I connect direct to my TV and the audio/video quality is perfect.

good luck


cheers
S.
Does the signal go direct to TV? or is it PC to TV. Thanks A.
Alen1 is offline  
Old Nov 4th 2008, 10:30 am
  #8  
BE Forum Addict
 
nottmbantam's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Riyadh.
Posts: 1,899
nottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

Hi - It will also depend on your compound where you end up. THe one I was on in Riyadh, had around 50 channels coming in, free of charge to the residents. These included BBC Prime, UKTV and the Sky SPorts equivalent - SHowSports. THere were also a few movie channels and documentary channels.

I could have installed my own dish and receiver to get an even bigger range of channels. Showtime has a few branches so you could go straight to them for installation, and there are a few otehr tv comapines who coudl do it for you.

Here in Jeddah, its pretty much the same, the compound pumps in a range of free tv cahnnels, which to be honest is enough for us - don't need any more!
nottmbantam is offline  
Old Nov 4th 2008, 1:13 pm
  #9  
jia
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 79
jia is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

we are not n a cmpound we are in sulaiamanyia near olaya, off compound and so looking for a fsat and good internet provider and satellite tv as well.
jia is offline  
Old Nov 4th 2008, 2:20 pm
  #10  
BE Forum Addict
 
benzonar's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Utopia
Posts: 1,631
benzonar has a reputation beyond reputebenzonar has a reputation beyond reputebenzonar has a reputation beyond reputebenzonar has a reputation beyond reputebenzonar has a reputation beyond reputebenzonar has a reputation beyond reputebenzonar has a reputation beyond reputebenzonar has a reputation beyond reputebenzonar has a reputation beyond reputebenzonar has a reputation beyond reputebenzonar has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

There is no such thing as a good internet provider in Saudi, they are all pretty useless.

For satellite, Orbit drfinitely operate in Riyadh and you can also get satellite DSL through them, but you pay a premium for it.

There is a company called Hatan who do satellite internet as well, but again is quite expensive.
benzonar is offline  
Old Nov 5th 2008, 2:46 am
  #11  
jia
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 79
jia is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

i guess the problem my husband is facing is that some providers work best in specific areas and some dont, we need to use skype to call home so for sure need DSL.
i was trying to get the link for orbit dsl but their web site has no link, if you know ,can you please provide me with the web address.
Thanks
jia is offline  
Old Nov 5th 2008, 2:49 am
  #12  
jia
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 79
jia is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

also if i am using showtime or orbit satellite can i us our american ntsc tv, someone was telling me that all decorders come with a ntsc to pal converter so it should not be a problem.advice on this as well please .
jia is offline  
Old Nov 24th 2008, 7:54 pm
  #13  
Just Joined
 
spanky's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 19
spanky is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

Originally Posted by Alen1 View Post
S.
Does the signal go direct to TV? or is it PC to TV. Thanks A.
for 3click.tv online streaming TV it goes to you PC Mac or iPhone. The iPhone streaming is really cool. but I connect a laptop directly to my tv using an S-Video cable and it works flawlessly.
Definately worth loooking into if you are without tv.
spanky is offline  
Old Nov 25th 2008, 6:24 pm
  #14  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
acoustic_toothbrush is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

Hi, I am considering applying for posts in Jeddah. I have two kids aged 7 and 5. They are crazy about spongebob squarepants - is it possible to get that on satellite? Any other comments about life for kids in Jeddah would be appreciated too. Cheers.
acoustic_toothbrush is offline  
Old Nov 25th 2008, 6:30 pm
  #15  
BE Forum Addict
 
Cham128's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: London and Dubai
Posts: 1,072
Cham128 is a splendid one to beholdCham128 is a splendid one to beholdCham128 is a splendid one to beholdCham128 is a splendid one to beholdCham128 is a splendid one to beholdCham128 is a splendid one to beholdCham128 is a splendid one to beholdCham128 is a splendid one to beholdCham128 is a splendid one to beholdCham128 is a splendid one to beholdCham128 is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: SATELLITE TV IN SAUDI

they allow TV out there? i thought it was considered haram?
Cham128 is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.