Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Riyadh? total newbie, some questions (£££)

Riyadh? total newbie, some questions (£££)

Old Aug 27th 2009, 3:28 pm
BE Forum Addict

freebo has a reputation beyond reputefreebo has a reputation beyond reputefreebo has a reputation beyond reputefreebo has a reputation beyond reputefreebo has a reputation beyond reputefreebo has a reputation beyond reputefreebo has a reputation beyond reputefreebo has a reputation beyond reputefreebo has a reputation beyond reputefreebo has a reputation beyond reputefreebo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Riyadh? total newbie, some questions (£££)

Hi,
I'm being asked if I'm interested in going for a contract position in Riyadh for a year. I know very little about the area (been to Dubai on holiday but that's about it).

I'm married & in my 40's (no kids) and the pay is £2,500 to £3,000 tax free per week but I need to cover all expenses, is that any good and would I be able to accrue some decent savings, which is the only reason for me going. I'm reading on here that compounds are hard to get into, so would need to find my own accom,
Also, and I know its probably a stupid question really but is it totally a dry country even for westerners and on a compound?

Thanks & pardon my ignorance!
Old Aug 27th 2009, 4:16 pm
Forum Regular

Danajj is just really niceDanajj is just really niceDanajj is just really niceDanajj is just really niceDanajj is just really niceDanajj is just really niceDanajj is just really niceDanajj is just really niceDanajj is just really niceDanajj is just really niceDanajj is just really nice
Default Re: Riyadh? total newbie, some questions (£££)

Originally Posted by freebo
Hi,
I'm being asked if I'm interested in going for a contract position in Riyadh for a year. I know very little about the area (been to Dubai on holiday but that's about it).