Qatar exit

Old May 14th 2015, 4:59 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 105
shake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really nice
Default Qatar exit

Hi All,

Looking for some advice. Currently working in Doha for about 3 months and have decided to move on as what was promised is not being offered in benefits, which was the deciding factor to move.

I am currently looking into a consulting role in the UAE as part of which they will want me to travel to Doha for work occasionally.

Can somone please help confirm if this will be a problem even if I plan to leave the proper way with no loans etc but will of course still be blocked from working in Doha for 2 years. I will be a resident of UAE and will not require a Qatar resident permit.

*Posting via phone, apologies for typos in advance. .. fat fingers.

Thank you for your time and feedback.
shake2000 is offline  
Old May 14th 2015, 8:53 am
  #2  
BE Forum Addict
 
co durham boy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,932
co durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Qatar exit

Originally Posted by shake2000 View Post
Hi All,

Looking for some advice. Currently working in Doha for about 3 months and have decided to move on as what was promised is not being offered in benefits, which was the deciding factor to move.

I am currently looking into a consulting role in the UAE as part of which they will want me to travel to Doha for work occasionally.

Can somone please help confirm if this will be a problem even if I plan to leave the proper way with no loans etc but will of course still be blocked from working in Doha for 2 years. I will be a resident of UAE and will not require a Qatar resident permit.

*Posting via phone, apologies for typos in advance. .. fat fingers.

Thank you for your time and feedback.

No issues if you're travelling in and out you'll be coming in on a tourist visa .
co durham boy is offline  
Old May 15th 2015, 4:10 am
  #3  
Onwards and Upwards!
 
Johnnyboy11's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 779
Johnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Qatar exit

What's your current visa status - Work Visa (a.k.a. Residency Permit or 'RP') or Business Visa?

Assuming it's a Work Visa, you can't change sponsors for two years from the date of issue and your current Qatari sponsor can block a transfer to a new Qatari sponsor for two years from the date it is cancelled or expires. Unless of course your new sponsor has more clout... The two-year rule only applies in Qatar, so you are free to work elsewhere in the region.

Be mindful of your UK Residency Status which might change if you have a significant break from full-time work, and/or you return to the UK whilst unemployed.

A Visitor Visa won't allow you to do any work in Qatar, you need a Business Visa for that. But I'm sure some people do.
Johnnyboy11 is offline  
Old May 15th 2015, 6:34 am
  #4  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 105
shake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really nice
Default Re: Qatar exit

I am currently on a work visa (have my RP) and will surely not be getting a NOC from my current employer. Does this mean I cannot get a business visa even if I am a UAE resident but fly in to Qatar just for business meetings etc.? Or do they just block you so you cannot get a work visa in Qatar? I have no plans of living or working in Qatar for the next 2 years just the UAE role demands I fly in for meetings etc..

Thank you for your help.
shake2000 is offline  
Old May 16th 2015, 6:38 am
  #5  
BE Forum Addict
 
co durham boy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,932
co durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond reputeco durham boy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Qatar exit

Originally Posted by shake2000 View Post
I am currently on a work visa (have my RP) and will surely not be getting a NOC from my current employer. Does this mean I cannot get a business visa even if I am a UAE resident but fly in to Qatar just for business meetings etc.? Or do they just block you so you cannot get a work visa in Qatar? I have no plans of living or working in Qatar for the next 2 years just the UAE role demands I fly in for meetings etc..

Thank you for your help.
Most people who fly in & out just come in on their passport as visa on arrival as it's easier . You come in and out do your business then go . Qatar airways has 18 flights per day to Dubai and it's full of bods doing that.

You will have zero issues as you'll be a resident of another country i.e the UAE.
co durham boy is offline  
Old May 18th 2015, 7:17 pm
  #6  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 105
shake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really niceshake2000 is just really nice
Default Re: Qatar exit

Thank you, much appreciated. Now to secure a job..
shake2000 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.