Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Potential job in Qatar

Potential job in Qatar

Old Dec 11th 2012, 6:51 pm
Just Joined

Stuthebroo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Potential job in Qatar

I work in the oil and gas industry and have a final interview for a three year secondment in Qatar. The company will be providing accommodation in Alfardan Gardens compound 1 or 2 and pay for my children's schooling, 12 & 13, with the exception of uniforms ans out of school activities.
My eldest son is flatly refusing to consider the move though I doubt he can look after himself as he has slight learning difficulties but that's a battle for another day.
I was wondering what would be classed as a decent salary for a comfortable lifestyle and saving some cash. The company also provide flights home twice a year along with a good medical package. I would be taxed as a UK employee as I would still be on UK payroll with a balancing process annually based upon my tax liabilities based upon the benefits I receive. Probably going to need two cars but the company help with that according to the guidelines.
My interview is in January and my wife can join me for a 5 day "pre-assignment" trip so we can take a look and see if we like the place.
Old Dec 11th 2012, 7:03 pm
Forum Regular

Neil51 is just really niceNeil51 is just really niceNeil51 is just really niceNeil51 is just really niceNeil51 is just really niceNeil51 is just really niceNeil51 is just really niceNeil51 is just really nice
Default Re: Potential job in Qatar

With the housing and schooling and flights paid for, there is little that you would need to spend money on (except for the cars as you have mentioned). food is relatively cheap compared to the UK. I lived in similar circumstances and saved basically 90% of my salary. I was on about £3000 per month, but this was tax free.