Reload this Page >

Possible move to UAE - some sensitive advice please

Wikiposts

Possible move to UAE - some sensitive advice please

Old Jul 15th 2010, 3:29 am
Just Joined

Robbieh67 will become famous soon enough
Default Possible move to UAE - some sensitive advice please

I'm currently talking to someone about a possible move to UAE, outside Dubai. I'm very tempted even though it will mean leaving my partner behind for a couple of years. I have no experience of the UAE (apart from a five day visit to Dubai six years ago) or of living away from home.
My question is this - how big a deal would the fact that I am an 'out' gay man be, within the local community, and within the expat community. By 'out' I don't mean I'm a flag waving, protesting, all-I-ever-talk-about type but that I refuse to deny who I am and, more importantly, lie about my home set up or my partner. So, if you, or someone at work asked me if I was married, I wouldn't lie.
Would that be an issue?
Old Jul 15th 2010, 3:35 am
BE Forum Addict

Patsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond reputePatsy Stoned has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Possible move to UAE - some sensitive advice please

Originally Posted by Robbieh67
I'm currently talking to someone about a possible move to UAE, outside Dubai. I'm very tempted even though it will mean leaving my partner behind for a couple of years. I have no experience of the UAE (apart from a five day visit to Dubai six years ago) or of living away from home.