Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

Old Mar 12th 2013, 8:46 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Imack1811's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Doha
Posts: 85
Imack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really nice
Default not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

I'm towards the end of my RP process which is being done through my employers. I'm due to fly back home for a few days early on Thursday morning.

The whole thing is becoming a bit of a nightmare now, it is just dragging on and on...I asked the immigration dept at the Qatar Financial Center yesterday, who are dealing with the application, if it was possible to fly home before the RP was issued, just in case it wasn't received in time. I was told that would be OK as my tourist visa has been transferred to a work visa.

I was away today for my fingerprints etc, and asked again about getting an exit permit and my passport back for tomorrow. This time I've been told that it isn't possible, I need to stay in the country until the RP process has been finished - if I decide to leave the country then I need to start the process all over again when I get back!

I've asked my employers to chase it up - any ideas on how to speed up the process because it's doing my head in and if I'm not back by Friday my wife is going to kill me.
Imack1811 is offline  
Old Mar 12th 2013, 9:32 am
  #2  
Shark Fisherman
 
britexpat76's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Doha
Posts: 4,568
britexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

Originally Posted by Imack1811
I'm towards the end of my RP process which is being done through my employers. I'm due to fly back home for a few days early on Thursday morning.

The whole thing is becoming a bit of a nightmare now, it is just dragging on and on...I asked the immigration dept at the Qatar Financial Center yesterday, who are dealing with the application, if it was possible to fly home before the RP was issued, just in case it wasn't received in time. I was told that would be OK as my tourist visa has been transferred to a work visa.

I was away today for my fingerprints etc, and asked again about getting an exit permit and my passport back for tomorrow. This time I've been told that it isn't possible, I need to stay in the country until the RP process has been finished - if I decide to leave the country then I need to start the process all over again when I get back!

I've asked my employers to chase it up - any ideas on how to speed up the process because it's doing my head in and if I'm not back by Friday my wife is going to kill me.
The bit about leaving and having to restart process is correct. There is no way to make it quicker but if you have done the bloods/fingers and given the passport over it should be back to you in 2 days max.

How many times did you hear Insh'allah?
britexpat76 is offline  
Old Mar 12th 2013, 9:57 am
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Imack1811's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Doha
Posts: 85
Imack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really nice
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

How many times did you hear Insh'allah?[/QUOTE]

Haha, more times than I could count! Felt a bit like being in a real life episode of The Office, staffed entirely by David Brents!
Imack1811 is offline  
Old Mar 12th 2013, 10:00 am
  #4  
Shark Fisherman
 
britexpat76's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Doha
Posts: 4,568
britexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

Probably not a bad analogy for Qatar.
britexpat76 is offline  
Old Mar 12th 2013, 11:48 am
  #5  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,578
mentalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

What is an RP other than a Right Prick? We have Residence Visas over here.
mentalist is offline  
Old Mar 12th 2013, 11:49 am
  #6  
Shark Fisherman
 
britexpat76's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Doha
Posts: 4,568
britexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

Originally Posted by mentalist
What is an RP other than a Right Prick? We have Residence Visas over here.
Permit mental one. They permit us to stay here.
britexpat76 is offline  
Old Mar 12th 2013, 2:01 pm
  #7  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Imack1811's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Doha
Posts: 85
Imack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really nice
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

Originally Posted by britexpat76
Permit mental one. They permit us to stay here.
And permit us not to leave without their permission
Imack1811 is offline  
Old Mar 12th 2013, 3:58 pm
  #8  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 0
scrubbedexpat141 scrubbedexpat141 scrubbedexpat141 scrubbedexpat141 scrubbedexpat141 scrubbedexpat141 scrubbedexpat141 scrubbedexpat141 scrubbedexpat141 scrubbedexpat141 scrubbedexpat141
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

Originally Posted by Imack1811
And permit us not to leave without their permission
Are you allowed to work without an RP as long as it is in process?
scrubbedexpat141 is offline  
Old Mar 12th 2013, 7:03 pm
  #9  
Shark Fisherman
 
britexpat76's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Doha
Posts: 4,568
britexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

Originally Posted by Scamp
Are you allowed to work without an RP as long as it is in process?
Yes, they stick everyone on 3 month Business Visa's here, or 9 months with someone I know.
britexpat76 is offline  
Old Mar 13th 2013, 5:08 am
  #10  
BE Enthusiast
 
DOHDUBMAN's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Doha,Qatar
Posts: 453
DOHDUBMAN is an unknown quantity at this pointDOHDUBMAN is an unknown quantity at this pointDOHDUBMAN is an unknown quantity at this pointDOHDUBMAN is an unknown quantity at this pointDOHDUBMAN is an unknown quantity at this pointDOHDUBMAN is an unknown quantity at this pointDOHDUBMAN is an unknown quantity at this pointDOHDUBMAN is an unknown quantity at this pointDOHDUBMAN is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

Originally Posted by Imack1811
And permit us not to leave without their permission
DOHDUBMAN is offline  
Old Mar 13th 2013, 5:58 am
  #11  
BE Forum Addict
 
flares's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,096
flares has a reputation beyond reputeflares has a reputation beyond reputeflares has a reputation beyond reputeflares has a reputation beyond reputeflares has a reputation beyond reputeflares has a reputation beyond reputeflares has a reputation beyond reputeflares has a reputation beyond reputeflares has a reputation beyond reputeflares has a reputation beyond reputeflares has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

actually makes the saudi process seem relatively user-friendly
flares is offline  
Old Mar 14th 2013, 9:59 am
  #12  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Imack1811's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Doha
Posts: 85
Imack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really nice
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

Happy days, now have my RP and multiple exit permits so I can leave tomorrow

Had to pretend that one of my kids was ill though to speed it along!

If there is a god, let's hope he doesn't have a f###ing karma button right now!
Imack1811 is offline  
Old Mar 14th 2013, 10:10 am
  #13  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 34
Hanky is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

I was in a similar situation in order to get to the Stone Roses gig in Dubai! Overall - my RP took about 10 days and found Al Dayeen Immigration staff helpful and not too busy.

Best thing is the E-gate, despite my initial scepticism it all seems to work...
Hanky is offline  
Old Mar 14th 2013, 10:17 am
  #14  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Imack1811's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Doha
Posts: 85
Imack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really niceImack1811 is just really nice
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

Originally Posted by Hanky
I was in a similar situation in order to get to the Stone Roses gig in Dubai! Overall - my RP took about 10 days and found Al Dayeen Immigration staff helpful and not too busy.

Best thing is the E-gate, despite my initial scepticism it all seems to work...
My process has taken the best part of 4 weeks from start to finish, was only after speaking to the head boy at immigration that it got pushed through.

Going to get the e-gate next time I'm out, someone told me though that if you chance your arm and go through the 1st/business class gate, no one ever checks to see if you are or not, will try that when I get back
Imack1811 is offline  
Old Mar 14th 2013, 11:22 am
  #15  
Shark Fisherman
 
britexpat76's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Doha
Posts: 4,568
britexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: not got RP yet, stuck in Qatar

Originally Posted by Imack1811
someone told me though that if you chance your arm and go through the 1st/business class gate, no one ever checks to see if you are or not, will try that when I get back
I do that every time dude. I don't queue with the plebs.
britexpat76 is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.