Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Non-Arabic speaking in Saudi Arabia?

Non-Arabic speaking in Saudi Arabia?

Old Feb 28th 2005, 9:47 am
Just Joined

johnyzee has a spectacular aura aboutjohnyzee has a spectacular aura aboutjohnyzee has a spectacular aura about
Default Non-Arabic speaking in Saudi Arabia?

This is my first time posting here - great forum.

I am a software engineer planning a relocation to Saudi Arabia and I am wondering how much of a problem I will have with not being able to read/speak Arabic?

I know other places in the Middle East (e.g. Dubai) are very international, but how about Saudi Arabia proper? Will I be able to talk to recruitment agencies and potential employers? Will I be able to conduct a relatively normal life in the Kingdom without being able to speak the language? I have a vague idea that English is not very common in Saudi Arabia, is this true?

I should mention that I will be moving there with my wife and 8-months old son, neither of who speak Arabic (my son is excused).

Any advice is greatly appreciated!
Old Feb 28th 2005, 9:53 am
The Oracle

Face81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of lightFace81 is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Non-Arabic speaking in Saudi Arabia?

Originally Posted by johnyzee

I am a software engineer planning a relocation to Saudi Arabia and I am wondering how much of a problem I will have with not being able to read/speak Arabic?