Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Newbie here - Abu Dhabi vs Dubai (living, etc)

Newbie here - Abu Dhabi vs Dubai (living, etc)

Old Dec 3rd 2013, 7:29 am
Just Joined

Caribda is an unknown quantity at this point
Talking Newbie here - Abu Dhabi vs Dubai (living, etc)

Hello All,

As mentioned in the title, would love to find your "certified" opinions on the following aspect: I will get a job in Abu Dhabi but would like to live in Dubai, more precisely, The Address, Dubai Marina, now my questions are:

1. Is the trafic infernal between Dubai and Abu Dhabi ? I have heard several stories.
2. How much time would i spend on the road between the above locations ?
3. Is The Address a good place to stay at least for the first year ?

Many thanks in advance,
C
Old Dec 4th 2013, 6:03 am
Account Closed

mikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Newbie here - Abu Dhabi vs Dubai (living, etc)

1. Less bad than it was prior to a lot of AD workers being forced to live in AD or they didn't get housing allowance. Try to stay out of the outside lane 'The white wall of death' unless you enjoy having 4x4's about 6 inches from your rear bumper, flashing you, not that you can see because they're too close, while you're doing 140 Kph.
2. Depends where in AD your job is, but factor around an hour each way on a normal day. If there is an accident things grind to a halt. If it's foggy, and the fog season has started now, then you'll crawl on the inner lanes while they drive at 140 in the outside lane because Yani Inshallah it's not my day to die.