British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Middle East (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/)
-   -   Moving to Dubai to sell overseas company? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/moving-dubai-sell-overseas-company-937219/)

WestCountryBoy Feb 20th 2021 9:20 am

Moving to Dubai to sell overseas company?

Hi all,

I'm currently a UK tax-resident but will soon be selling a HK-based company of which I'm the sole shareholder.

Of course, if possible, I'd like to (eventually) get this money back into a UK bank account while minimising my UK CGT liability.

I'm being advised that the way to do this would be to sell the company while I'm a tax resident in a country in which income tax is 0, so for example, living in Dubai for a tax year, during which I sell the company and transfer the proceeds from the HK business bank account to a British bank account (but not declaring it to HMRC as I'm no longer a UK tax resident).

I'm aware that, at some point, I'll probably have to hire a professional to advise me on an exact plan, but first wanted your guys' opinion on whether or not I'm looking at the right kind of rough plan.

Many thanks!

Johnnyboy11 Feb 20th 2021 9:36 am

Re: Moving to Dubai to sell overseas company?

Get professional advice. Income Tax and CGT are different and you'll be liable for both. To become UK Non-Resident for Income Tax purposes takes at least one full tax year out of the UK with limited visits. CGT liability lasts 5 complete tax years, from memory.

WestCountryBoy Feb 20th 2021 11:00 am

Originally Posted by Johnnyboy11 (Post 12975554)
Get professional advice. Income Tax and CGT are different and you'll be liable for both. To become UK Non-Resident for Income Tax purposes takes at least one full tax year out of the UK with limited visits. CGC liability lasts 5 complete tax years, from memory.