Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Moving from Blackberry Z10 to Samsung S5 on Etisalat

Moving from Blackberry Z10 to Samsung S5 on Etisalat

Old Jun 1st 2014, 12:36 pm
  #1  
Big Member
Thread Starter
 
NorthernLad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,889
NorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Moving from Blackberry Z10 to Samsung S5 on Etisalat

I've been using a Blackberry Z10 company phone for a while and quite liked it. Until the last three days, that is. It's had a rapid fall from grace and now is unusable.

I've now got the Samsung S5 (so far so good), wireless works, SMS and phone calls.

Only problem is I can not longer receive data. I've checked mobile settings, APN etc and all looks OK. Our IT department just look at me dumbly.

Anyone have any idea what can be causing this (I've got a feeling I'm missing something obvious!)?
NorthernLad is offline  
Old Jun 1st 2014, 12:39 pm
  #2  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Millhouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Disneyland, Dubai
Posts: 15,887
Millhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Moving from Blackberry Z10 to Samsung S5 on Etisalat

Originally Posted by NorthernLad
I've been using a Blackberry Z10 company phone for a while and quite liked it. Until the last three days, that is. It's had a rapid fall from grace and now is unusable.

I've now got the Samsung S5 (so far so good), wireless works, SMS and phone calls.

Only problem is I can not longer receive data. I've checked mobile settings, APN etc and all looks OK. Our IT department just look at me dumbly.

Anyone have any idea what can be causing this (I've got a feeling I'm missing something obvious!)?
Data package with etishit? Still on the old BB one?
Millhouse is offline  
Old Jun 1st 2014, 1:06 pm
  #3  
Big Member
Thread Starter
 
NorthernLad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,889
NorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Moving from Blackberry Z10 to Samsung S5 on Etisalat

Originally Posted by Millhouse
Data package with etishit? Still on the old BB one?
I thought about that - but in the past I've moved the SIM to an iPhone and it worked fine (albeit with huge data charges).
NorthernLad is offline  
Old Jun 1st 2014, 3:13 pm
  #4  
BE Enthusiast
 
Rubydo's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2014
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 569
Rubydo has a reputation beyond reputeRubydo has a reputation beyond reputeRubydo has a reputation beyond reputeRubydo has a reputation beyond reputeRubydo has a reputation beyond reputeRubydo has a reputation beyond reputeRubydo has a reputation beyond reputeRubydo has a reputation beyond reputeRubydo has a reputation beyond reputeRubydo has a reputation beyond reputeRubydo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Moving from Blackberry Z10 to Samsung S5 on Etisalat

Originally Posted by NorthernLad
I've been using a Blackberry Z10 company phone for a while and quite liked it. Until the last three days, that is. It's had a rapid fall from grace and now is unusable.

I've now got the Samsung S5 (so far so good), wireless works, SMS and phone calls.

Only problem is I can not longer receive data. I've checked mobile settings, APN etc and all looks OK. Our IT department just look at me dumbly.

Anyone have any idea what can be causing this (I've got a feeling I'm missing something obvious!)?
Is the roaming switched on? I'm not clued up with technology so sorry this may be a useless post
Rubydo is offline  
Old Jun 6th 2014, 7:38 am
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
 
Dubaiexile's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Dubai
Posts: 990
Dubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Moving from Blackberry Z10 to Samsung S5 on Etisalat

Do not switch the roaming on or data package until you have agreed a rate, otherwise you will be charged a stupid amount of money!
Dubaiexile is offline  
Old Jun 7th 2014, 2:56 pm
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 547
archie159 is a splendid one to beholdarchie159 is a splendid one to beholdarchie159 is a splendid one to beholdarchie159 is a splendid one to beholdarchie159 is a splendid one to beholdarchie159 is a splendid one to beholdarchie159 is a splendid one to beholdarchie159 is a splendid one to beholdarchie159 is a splendid one to beholdarchie159 is a splendid one to beholdarchie159 is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Moving from Blackberry Z10 to Samsung S5 on Etisalat

My very limited knowledge of this makes me think that blackberry sim cards are tied to the phones - you need to arrange for a transfer. Certainly when my company replaced my blackberry with another one a few months ago it was more complicated than just moving the sim cards across - they needed to register the new handset to the old sim card.
archie159 is offline  
Old Jun 8th 2014, 9:37 am
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 300
flood2 will become famous soon enoughflood2 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Moving from Blackberry Z10 to Samsung S5 on Etisalat

You will need to cancel the BBM service on your sim and set up new data plan.
flood2 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.