British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Middle East (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/)
-   -   Job Offer In Riyadh (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/job-offer-riyadh-905985/)

raauhs Nov 18th 2017 2:26 pm

Job Offer In Riyadh

I am British and I work and live in London.I work as a Plant Engineer and salary is £2600 a month After TAX.we are a family of 4 (Wife plus 2 kids) and Have own 3 bed house .

I have been offered a job In Riyadh .The salary offered is £4000 a month Tax free along with free accommodation,health insurance and twice returns flights to Uk.

I am confused whether to take this opportunity or not.Kids are doing A levels so will be moving alone .:ohmy:

Is it worth it to go there or .....

any suggestions will be highly appreciated.

nonthaburi Nov 18th 2017 3:33 pm

Re: Job Offer In Riyadh

Basically you're being offered a 50% payrise to work in Riyadh. Seeing how you're going to be on your own that's all you have to think about. Housing covered, no Saudi school fees to pay. Can you put up with being away from the family? That's your only thing to consider.

Most companies will give 30 days plus holidays at the two Eids.

BA has daily flights that start at about 500GBP.

Riyadh is okay though once you find your feet. There is a good social scene, with a lot of parties etc.

DXBtoDOH Nov 18th 2017 3:33 pm

You send 2600 GBP home each month to allow your family to maintain their current lifestyle. You spend 1,000 GBP just to live. Is it worth the potential 400 GBP savings?

I don’t think so.

Not good enough.

nonthaburi Nov 18th 2017 3:58 pm

Originally Posted by DXBtoDOH (Post 12384860)
You send 2600 GBP home each month to allow your family to maintain their current lifestyle. You spend 1,000 GBP just to live. Is it worth the potential 400 GBP savings?

I don’t think so.

Not good enough.

1000GBP a month to live on in Riyadh!!!! What is he going to be doing?