Job Offer

Old Nov 15th 2016, 7:47 am
Just Joined

NIguy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Job Offer

Hi

I have been offered a position in Abu Dhabi
Currently i am an IT Service Manager with 10 years experience (not managing people)

Would love to get everyones thoughts on my package and whether it is worth going for. All figures in dirhams

The package is as follows
Basic - 26500
Housing - 120000
car allowance - 2500
Total - 39000 per month

mobile paid
schooling is 85% of the costs covered up to 4 kids (no cap)
travel allowance for whole family which is around 5k per year per person
medical insurance for whole family
visas for whole family

relocation is around 40,000 AED
hotel paid for 1 month upon arrival

That is the offer and i have negotiated these figures to the max. The housing is very low but is set for the whole company at my level so i know i will need to top this up. I am also aware i have to pay housing upfront but i will have the funds initially for this and the company will pay the 120k straight away when i move over and have a bank account.

There will be me, my wife and 2 kids (not in school yet) moving over. Wife will not work for the first year (maybe never as she doesn't really have any qualifications and with 2 kids it would be hard in a new country)

Is this a good salary for my experience and will it be enough to have a good middle class lifestyle (nice apartment, 2 decent cars, couple holidays, drinks and meals out once a week). Although i have no commitments back home i would love to save a thousand pounds a month if possible

Appreciate all your thoughts on this
Old Nov 15th 2016, 8:19 am
BE Forum Addict