Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Jeddah family life?

Jeddah family life?

Old Nov 13th 2008, 6:55 am
Just Joined

acoustic_toothbrush is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Jeddah family life?

Hi, I have searched the forum for a bit and would like some information on aspects of life in Jeddah. I am a teacher and am considering the British school, amongst others in the region, as a possible option. Is Jeddah considered safe? In terms of recreational opportunities is it possible to get to the beach in reasonable time and for reasonable cost? How bad is the air pollution in that locality- the school is north of the city centre not far from the airport? Any informed comment would be gratefully received. We are a family of four from downunder.
Old Nov 13th 2008, 6:59 am
Account Closed

lionheart is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Jeddah family life?

Although I left Jeddah in May 2006, my recollection is that the British School is located in a pleasant enough area. The airport won't be a problem. Don't expect family style Ozzie beaches, but there are private beaches owned by hotel chains which offer excellent amenities at a reasonable price. There is also a nice resort only 40kms north of Jeddah where you can escape over the weekend. Can't recall its name but it has a golf course as well as beaches. Good luck.
Old Nov 13th 2008, 7:00 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace

The Dean has a reputation beyond reputeThe Dean has a reputation beyond reputeThe Dean has a reputation beyond reputeThe Dean has a reputation beyond reputeThe Dean has a reputation beyond reputeThe Dean has a reputation beyond reputeThe Dean has a reputation beyond reputeThe Dean has a reputation beyond reputeThe Dean has a reputation beyond reputeThe Dean has a reputation beyond reputeThe Dean has a reputation beyond repute

Originally Posted by acoustic_toothbrush