Housing fee

Old Jul 4th 2007, 8:20 am
Just Joined

Chris Taylor is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Housing fee

Hi All,

I am still relatively new to Dubai (came over on February 2007).

I was wondering if anybody could help with a query I have.

I currently rent an apartment where the annual rent is 135,000 AED.

If a housing fee is calculated to be 5% of your annual rent spread over 12 months, I would calculate this fee to be 562.5 AED per month ((135,000*0.05)/12months).

However I received my DEWA bill which included a housing fee of 495 AED (less than my calculation).

Taking this current housing fee of 495 AED would assume my annual rent should be 118,800 AED ((495*12)/0.05).

This would seem good as I am paying less housing fee as expected. However the suspicious side of me is wondering if I have been diddled on my rent. All my dealings were done with the agent, signing documents etc. Not one document had been counter signed by the landlord, however he has been named on the document.

Can any of you guys shed some light on this? Is this how the housing fee is calculated? Would It be wrong for me to assume that both myself and the landlord are been cheated out on moneys by the agent.

Any feedback would be much appreciated

Thanks in advance
Old Jul 4th 2007, 8:26 am
Concierge

Blue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Housing fee

I really have no idea, I would have to ask my husband. 135 for an apartment, must be a nice one. And welcome!!
Old Jul 4th 2007, 8:34 am
Just Joined

Thanks Blue Cat.

It is a nice apartment, however still over priced.