British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Middle East (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/)
-   -   Health care in Dubai (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/health-care-dubai-866653/)

tee1 Oct 15th 2015 8:21 pm

Health care in Dubai

Hi All

This is my first time to the middle east section of the forum. I'm normally found browsing in Canada where I live (BC)
I've took a new job with a company based in Dubai but will be working in Oman and Dubai. It's all happened really fast and I leave next week so I'm rapidly packing and also trying to research.

My employer says once I have my residency card I can get public health care and I'm just wondering if this is adequate? What would it cover? I'm searching and searching on the tinterweb but this forum is so helpful for things like this.
I don't earn alot so this is more of an experience for me and I'd like to keep cost as low as possible whilst still having comprehensive medical care for emergencys and also a dental emergency like knocking teeth out etc.

I also still have my BC health for some coverage and will remain eligible for this whilst I'm away as I'll be returning in May next year.

Thankyou

mikewot Oct 16th 2015 4:41 am

Re: Health care in Dubai

??? Public health care? Residency card??? Your employer is pulling a fast one, it is compulsory for them to provide medical insurance.

mission Oct 18th 2015 9:21 am

Originally Posted by mikewot (Post 11773060)
??? Public health care? Residency card??? Your employer is pulling a fast one, it is compulsory for them to provide medical insurance.

yep I was going to say the same thing - they legally need to provide you with health care.

Meow Oct 18th 2015 10:29 am

The only exception - for the time being - is companies with fewer than 100 employees but that must provide medical cover for staff no later than June of next year.