Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

A female perspective on living and working in the Kingdom?

A female perspective on living and working in the Kingdom?

Old Aug 26th 2010, 4:28 pm
Just Joined

bluelotus is an unknown quantity at this point
Default A female perspective on living and working in the Kingdom?

Hi all my fellow sisters out there,

Im a British EFL teacher and considering working in Saudi. I want to know what its been like for you as a female living and working in the Kingdom?

-work (do you enjoy your job? do you like the work environment?, any barriers to employment?)
- travel (how do you move around? can you travel on your own?)
- housing (who do you live with?)
- schooling for children?
- customs (what to wear and what not to wear?)
- leisure (what do you do when your not working? How do you relax after a long day?!)
- what things you would recommend taking there that us females of the species can't live without!

I would really like to hear from both women in Jeddah and Riyadh. Thanks!
Old Aug 26th 2010, 5:02 pm
Just Joined

screeeeeem is just really nicescreeeeeem is just really nicescreeeeeem is just really nicescreeeeeem is just really nicescreeeeeem is just really nicescreeeeeem is just really nicescreeeeeem is just really nicescreeeeeem is just really nice
Default Re: A female perspective on living and working in the Kingdom?

im not a female but i could help you in the above questions as im living in saudi since 2008

1) this depends from one person to another but in brief if you are good paid you will forget all the stress around you

2) you cant travel by your own , you need a driver or your bro/husband/
this in arab culture is called mohram ( a relative for you but not a bf ! ), of course if you are with your BF the police wont be restricted on you as when they notice you are a UK person they got afraid that you will complain to human rights