Reload this Page >

Expat Life in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Expat Life in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Old May 13th 2014, 10:40 am
Just Joined

YoungRiyadh is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Expat Life in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Hello,

Today I have officially accepted a position in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. Prior to accepting the offer I did my diligence on the Kingdom and found mixed views. However I am young and thought 'why not' as I enjoy challenge and adapting/working within the Saudi culture looks like it will be a challenge.

To give you a bit of background I am 23 years old (male), I hold a degree and will be working in a construction consultancy. My package offered is circa 275k SAR + Car + Accommodation + Healthcare - I felt this was a good starting package, it is obviously not the BIG money you hear about in the ME but I am fully aware you have to start somewhere and prove your worth - FYI the consultancy I am going to work for is a Western consultancy.

However my main aim from this post is to get a little feedback on life out in Riaydh i.e.

- Is there much of a social life for expats?
- In regards to sports (watching and participating) is there many facilities for this?
- Safety, is it safe to venture out of a western compound?
- Will work be my only life out there or can you build a social life too?

Any other advice on living in Riyadh would be great also! Thanks in advance.
Old May 14th 2014, 3:48 am

nonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Expat Life in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia