Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

employment terminated in Abu Dhabi

employment terminated in Abu Dhabi

Old Mar 18th 2008, 7:15 am
Forum Regular

niddy is on a distinguished road
Default employment terminated in Abu Dhabi

I was informed yesterday that my employment of over 4 months now has been terminated by my lawfirm (I'm a lawyer). I haven't gone in to discuss my rights etc but I was still in my probation period (which is 6 months long). FYI, I was dismissed for reasons unrelated to work quality, but because I voiced dissatisfaction with the kind of work I have been given since my arrival and the lack of professional development. So I will be getting paid for the next one month notice period without having to work. A few questions (some of which I probably know the answer to) for the veterans here who know of anything similar as I'd like to have an idea of my rights before going in:

1- Would any vacation entitlement be added to the one month notice period?

2- The office manager has asked for my passport and labor card so she can have the visa and labor card terminated. Do I have to give her these? If and when my visa gets canceled what will my status be? (I am a U.S. citizen)

3- I want to stay in Abu Dhabi and will be looking at the other law firms that are around. Any advice as to how to avoid dismissal details? What to do if they want a reference?

Thanks guys.
Old Mar 18th 2008, 7:54 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace