Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Doha/Qatar mobile phones

Doha/Qatar mobile phones

Old Jun 14th 2014, 4:00 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 11
Salzburg is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Doha/Qatar mobile phones

I'm looking at Vodafone and Ooredoo's mobile phone offerings and was wondering if there are any thoughts on which is more reliable? In the beginning ill be getting just myself a phone but when the family arrive will get a phone for the wife and kids. I'd like Internet capability.

Thoughts anyone?
Salzburg is offline  
Old Jun 14th 2014, 7:07 pm
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 300
flood2 will become famous soon enoughflood2 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Doha/Qatar mobile phones

I was with Ooredoo for 18 months and never had any problems.
flood2 is offline  
Old Jun 14th 2014, 8:05 pm
  #3  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 88
JamesandTamsin is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Doha/Qatar mobile phones

I'm with Oredoooooo at the moment on Hala (pay as you go). No problems whatsoever and quite reasonable if you subscribe to one of their data packages (I'm on MIP 25)...

Recommended from me
JamesandTamsin is offline  
Old Jun 14th 2014, 8:05 pm
  #4  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 88
JamesandTamsin is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Doha/Qatar mobile phones

I'm with Oredoooooo at the moment on Hala (pay as you go). No problems whatsoever and quite reasonable if you subscribe to one of their data packages (I'm on MIP 25)...

Recommended from me
JamesandTamsin is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2014, 1:48 am
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
 
martinbkk's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: Bangkok/Doha
Posts: 614
martinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Doha/Qatar mobile phones

I use Vodaphone, no problems but for reduced coverage in a few of the airport areas I work. 4G in a lot of places now with about 10-12Mbps. I use their PAYG scheme and spend about QR100 a month. 50 on calls and 50 for 1G data with a month validity.
Recently something seems to have happened and I could neither call out or send SMS messages despite plenty of credit. Calls to their service centre have proved fruitless and I'm out of the country for a week but need to fix it when I get back so will se how their walk in service centre does.
martinbkk is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2014, 1:48 am
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
martinbkk's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: Bangkok/Doha
Posts: 614
martinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond reputemartinbkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Doha/Qatar mobile phones

I use Vodaphone, until this last week no problems but for reduced coverage in a few of the airport areas I work. 4G in a lot of places now with about 10-12Mbps. I use their PAYG scheme and spend about QR100 a month. 50 on calls and 50 for 1G data with a month validity.
Recently something seems to have happened and I could neither call out or send SMS messages despite plenty of credit. Calls to their service centre have proved fruitless and I'm out of the country for a week but need to fix it when I get back so will se how their walk in service centre does.
martinbkk is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2014, 4:58 pm
  #7  
Onwards and Upwards!
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 884
Johnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond reputeJohnnyboy11 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Doha/Qatar mobile phones

Originally Posted by martinbkk
I use Vodaphone, until this last week no problems but for reduced coverage in a few of the airport areas I work. 4G in a lot of places now with about 10-12Mbps. I use their PAYG scheme and spend about QR100 a month. 50 on calls and 50 for 1G data with a month validity.
Recently something seems to have happened and I could neither call out or send SMS messages despite plenty of credit. Calls to their service centre have proved fruitless and I'm out of the country for a week but need to fix it when I get back so will se how their walk in service centre does.
I had the same Vodafone SMS problem recently. Messages sent but never arrived. I've lost confidence in Vodafone and will be porting my number back to Q-tel when the credit runs out.
Johnnyboy11 is offline  
Old Jun 16th 2014, 9:37 am
  #8  
Shark Fisherman
 
britexpat76's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Doha
Posts: 4,568
britexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Doha/Qatar mobile phones

Originally Posted by Salzburg
I'm looking at Vodafone and Ooredoo's mobile phone offerings and was wondering if there are any thoughts on which is more reliable? In the beginning ill be getting just myself a phone but when the family arrive will get a phone for the wife and kids. I'd like Internet capability.

Thoughts anyone?
If you use the phone to call international numbers get OOredont as their international package is excellent. I pay 400 a month but get 2000 minutes anywhere in the world.
britexpat76 is offline  
Old Jul 16th 2014, 3:05 pm
  #9  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 32
ReesanDemha is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Doha/Qatar mobile phones

Hi - going to be moving out to Qatar at the end of Aug. Was thinking 'skype' would be the best for international calls - assuming you have a good internet connection - I will be ok for the first month living at a hotel with free wifi - but thereafter what are the home wifi packages like ?
ReesanDemha is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.