British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Middle East (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/)
-   -   divorce (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/divorce-647539/)

fouz Jan 5th 2010 4:38 pm

divorce

How easy or diff is it to divorce here as a british national, married in UK? also a woman married to a britsh muslim??? help pls.

weescot Jan 5th 2010 5:11 pm

Re: divorce

I am not an expert but it is pretty straight forward I understand - sahria law of course. One of the BE members who is maybe Emirati or married to an Emirati will better advice but I undertand the basic process is apply, agree conditions with lawyer/court rep then go to court where a judge grants the divorce. All original UK marraige certification has to be attested by a notary public and translated into Arabic by a registered translator.

What you get out of a divorce and if you are permitted to stay on here can depend on your visa status (if your husband is sponsoring you) and if you have children.

You are best to seek legal advice.

fouz Jan 5th 2010 5:14 pm

many thanks....

seven seas Jan 5th 2010 6:12 pm

good luck.

Roadking Jan 5th 2010 6:14 pm

Why is divorce so expensive?:huh:

Cause it's worth it! :thumbup:

lionheart Jan 6th 2010 3:57 am

Originally Posted by Roadking (Post 8220639)
Why is divorce so expensive?:huh:
Cause it's worth it! :thumbup:

If that's your philosophy, wouldn't it be cheaper not to get married in the first place?:confused:

Roadking Jan 6th 2010 5:24 am

Originally Posted by lionheart (Post 8222101)
If that's your philosophy, wouldn't it be cheaper not to get married in the first place?:confused:

Good thinking; is that the rule you live by? :rolleyes:

Millhouse Jan 6th 2010 6:41 am

I delayed it for as long as I possibably could.

scrubbedexpat080 Jan 6th 2010 6:49 am

Why you get married if you want to divorce?? not good to divorce, try to hug your wife and continue the life with your kids.:wub: