Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Change in passport procedures

Change in passport procedures

Old Mar 6th 2013, 9:22 pm
  #16  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Millhouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Disneyland, Dubai
Posts: 15,887
Millhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Change in passport procedures

Originally Posted by MAV_DXB
I used my gold Skywards card to enter and exit, my Skywards expired Feb and they still haven't sent my new card, so when I return in a week or two's time I'll just use my other passport and enter on a tourist visa.
yes, but the egate that is attached to your skywards card has not expired.

What is annoying is when they give you a new skywards card you can't put the egate on it until the other expires. You end up needing both, one for the check in machine, the other for the egate. brilliant.
Millhouse is offline  
Old Mar 6th 2013, 9:28 pm
  #17  
BE Forum Addict
 
csdf's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 1,175
csdf has a reputation beyond reputecsdf has a reputation beyond reputecsdf has a reputation beyond reputecsdf has a reputation beyond reputecsdf has a reputation beyond reputecsdf has a reputation beyond reputecsdf has a reputation beyond reputecsdf has a reputation beyond reputecsdf has a reputation beyond reputecsdf has a reputation beyond reputecsdf has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Change in passport procedures

So what happens if you try to come back in and the e-gate machines aren't working? I guess you'd have to get a tourist visa?
csdf is offline  
Old Mar 6th 2013, 11:10 pm
  #18  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 1,805
Brains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Change in passport procedures

Originally Posted by csdf
So what happens if you try to come back in and the e-gate machines aren't working? I guess you'd have to get a tourist visa?
Not sure it would work at all. I arrived a bit pissed into AUH last year when my residence was on my old passport. I couldn't find it, so just presumed I'd left it in Scotland. Told them that I'd left it behind, but I had my current passport (no visa), they could just put me in as a tourist, and I'd get someone to courier it over. Was a big no. It was either fly back to Scotland and get it, or have the residence visa cancelled immediately. Gave my bags one last look through and found it thankfully.
Brains1983 is offline  
Old Mar 7th 2013, 12:16 am
  #19  
Forum Regular
 
MAV_DXB's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Bur Dubai
Posts: 291
MAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Change in passport procedures

Originally Posted by csdf
So what happens if you try to come back in and the e-gate machines aren't working? I guess you'd have to get a tourist visa?
Yep, just get a tourist visa, that's what I'll be doing in a couple of weeks time. There's no need for them to know that you have a visa in another passport, that'll just confuse them, hence the post by Brains1983 above. Keep things simple.
MAV_DXB is offline  
Old Mar 7th 2013, 4:20 am
  #20  
Not an evil hypnotist
 
typical's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 1,975
typical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Change in passport procedures

Originally Posted by csdf
Does anyone know what happens when you have two British passports and want to renew one? Do you just renew it as normal, or do you have to do something special? Also, I can't remember now which one of my passports is the "second" passport - so if I have to do something special I won't know which passport I'm supposed to do it with.
I don't know by post, but the process in person late last year was:
- Fill in the form reflecting the passport you want renewed
- Take both passports
- Hand over both passports with letter from company saying you still need both
- Have them flick through them, see a million visa stamps, and say "good grief you travel a lot"
- Get the not-to-be-renewed passport back and let the other one get processed as "normal"
- Pick up a nice new passport

Originally Posted by MAV_DXB
Is one of the passports designated as a 'second' passport? I just use whichever one is to hand when travelling, or if applying for visas I leave the one with my UAE visa in the UAE and travel on my other - which is what I'm doing right now as I'm in Shanghai and I need a KSA visa.
Not in the UK but yes in the UAE - you can only enter and leave on the passport with your visa in it. Of course you can enter on a tourist visa but it can really upset them, and they can and do refuse you exit if you try to leave without the passport containing the visa. (Easiest way for them to notice is the egate machine screwing up but showing the egate bloke your passport and visa details...)
typical is offline  
Old Mar 20th 2013, 9:35 am
  #21  
 
BritInParis's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Not in Paris
Posts: 18,203
BritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Change in passport procedures

Originally Posted by Norm_uk
I wonder if any Germans actually work there.

N.
Some were. Mostly Brits though - ex-Army or their wives and children.
BritInParis is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.