Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Buying a house in the UK

Buying a house in the UK

Old Aug 23rd 2016, 5:09 pm
Forum Regular

mrkjd is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Buying a house in the UK

My wife is in a UK rental property and we want to buy a place in her name. I work as a consultant overseas in O&G

Her conveyancer has demanded to know where the funds are from as we (she) is a cash buyer. They are not satisfied with me telling them they are from my earnings working 20 years overseas and that fact seems to have stirred them into a frenzy of suspicion! I understand it's all money laundering stuff but FFS how do expats buy homes in the UK these days? There must be literally thousands of Jonny-foreigners paying cash for homes from savings from their tuk-tuk business in Delhi or computer shop in Shanghi!
Old Aug 23rd 2016, 6:32 pm

Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Buying a house in the UK

"Telling" them is not enough, you need to be able to provide documents to support your story. For example several years of bank statements showing progressive accumulation of funds such that it is plausible that you accumulated the account bakance over the period you say you've been saving. Ideally a complete account transaction history showing the build-up of the current balance would likely resolve most of the issues over the source of the funds in the account.

Perhaps you have bonus payments that make a substantial part of the balance - do you have, or can you obtain documentation of the bonuses?