Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Banking in Qatar and Offshore

Banking in Qatar and Offshore

Old Oct 3rd 2007, 5:55 am
Just Joined

srb-001 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Banking in Qatar and Offshore

Hi, I'm just about to move to Qatar from UK and I will need to have a local bank account in Doha for current account and credit card and then to make transfers to an offshore savings account.
Anyone have any advice on which bank or banks to use?
I thought HSBC was going to be the solution but HSBC International view the Doha HSBC as 3rd Party Banking and unless I'm reading their website wrongly their Jersey interest rates for savings look rather low. Maybe they're competitive?? I'm new to all this.

Thanks

Steve
Old Oct 4th 2007, 9:18 am
Just Joined

Mariah is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Banking in Qatar and Offshore

Have a look the following banks in Doha.

http://www.qnb.com.qa/english/
http://www.cbq.com.qa/
http://www.mashreqbank.com.qa/
http://www.ahlibank.com.qa/
http://www.ibq.com.qa/output/Page2.asp

No CITIBANK in Doha.
http://www.standardchartered.com/qa/index.html

I have an account in HSBC Doha, their relationship manager is quite good.
Old Oct 4th 2007, 10:08 am
Just Joined

Originally Posted by Mariah
Have a look the following banks in Doha.

http://www.qnb.com.qa/english/
http://www.cbq.com.qa/
http://www.mashreqbank.com.qa/
http://www.ahlibank.com.qa/
http://www.ibq.com.qa/output/Page2.asp

No CITIBANK in Doha.
http://www.standardchartered.com/qa/index.html

I have an account in HSBC Doha, their relationship manager is quite good.
Thanks Mariah.
I used Standard Chartered when I worked in Dubai, but I was a Conoco expat paid in Sterling and my pay went straight to Jersey.
Steve
Old Oct 4th 2007, 11:46 am
Just Joined

Thanks Mariah,

I see from your profile that you scuba dive, are there many dive clubs, is it easy to join?