Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Anyone using Revolut in UAE?

Anyone using Revolut in UAE?

Old Jan 10th 2023, 10:13 am
  #16  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 147
shiraz1 has much to be proud ofshiraz1 has much to be proud ofshiraz1 has much to be proud ofshiraz1 has much to be proud ofshiraz1 has much to be proud ofshiraz1 has much to be proud ofshiraz1 has much to be proud ofshiraz1 has much to be proud ofshiraz1 has much to be proud ofshiraz1 has much to be proud ofshiraz1 has much to be proud of
Default Re: Anyone using Revolut in UAE?

Not sure what to make of this.

https://www.altfi.com/article/10237_...til-early-2023
shiraz1 is offline  
Old Jan 17th 2023, 7:19 am
  #17  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Millhouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Disneyland, Dubai
Posts: 15,887
Millhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using Revolut in UAE?

Originally Posted by shiraz1
me either but I’ve removed almost everything. Neobanks turn can bad quickly.

They might not ban withdrawals but they make simply make it harder to do so - ask for KYC updates etc.

Millhouse is offline  
Old Jun 13th 2023, 10:48 am
  #18  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jun 2023
Posts: 3
maxsoe is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Anyone using Revolut in UAE?

I used to be able to send AED to AED from UAE to UK with ENBD. Today (13 June 2023), the app no longer lets me choose AED as a remittance currency. Anyone else having this problem, and have they found an alternative to send AED to the UK.
maxsoe is offline  
Old Jun 13th 2023, 12:25 pm
  #19  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jan 2017
Location: Dubai
Posts: 851
UKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using Revolut in UAE?

Originally Posted by maxsoe
have they found an alternative to send AED to the UK.
Revolut ….. I use it regularly HSBC UAE > Revolut (AED)

No charges and money arrives within a couple of hours during business day.
UKMS is online now  
Old Jun 13th 2023, 2:50 pm
  #20  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jun 2023
Posts: 3
maxsoe is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Anyone using Revolut in UAE?

Originally Posted by UKMS
Revolut ….. I use it regularly HSBC UAE > Revolut (AED)

No charges and money arrives within a couple of hours during business day.
Have you tried it today? I'm hoping your bank doesn't do what ENBD did. I'll go talk to HSBC tomorrow and open an account.
maxsoe is offline  
Old Jun 13th 2023, 2:56 pm
  #21  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jan 2017
Location: Dubai
Posts: 851
UKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using Revolut in UAE?

Originally Posted by maxsoe
Have you tried it today? I'm hoping your bank doesn't do what ENBD did. I'll go talk to HSBC tomorrow and open an account.
I made a transfer yesterday and I’ve just walked through a dummy transfer now and it’s fine.

I just send the funds to my Revolut GB IBAN as AED works a treat with zero charges.
UKMS is online now  
Old Jun 13th 2023, 3:05 pm
  #22  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jun 2023
Posts: 3
maxsoe is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Anyone using Revolut in UAE?

Originally Posted by UKMS
I made a transfer yesterday and I’ve just walked through a dummy transfer now and it’s fine.

I just send the funds to my Revolut GB IBAN as AED works a treat with zero charges.
Great to hear! I'll sign up with HSBC tomorrow.
maxsoe is offline  
Old Jun 30th 2023, 3:27 pm
  #23  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jan 2017
Location: Dubai
Posts: 851
UKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using Revolut in UAE?

If anyone is interested Revolut now offer a joint account that can set up in a few seconds if you are both existing users.
UKMS is online now  
Old Oct 4th 2023, 9:29 am
  #24  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Oct 2023
Posts: 2
Averagegolfer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Anyone using Revolut in UAE?

HSBC UAE app has just stopped allowing me to transfer AED to revolut (having worked well for the last 18 months), insists on converting to GBP.
Will call them to see if I can do it in branch.

Has anyone found another way of transferring AED?
Averagegolfer is offline  
Old Oct 4th 2023, 10:17 am
  #25  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jan 2017
Location: Dubai
Posts: 851
UKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond reputeUKMS has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using Revolut in UAE?

Originally Posted by Averagegolfer
HSBC UAE app has just stopped allowing me to transfer AED to revolut (having worked well for the last 18 months), insists on converting to GBP.
Will call them to see if I can do it in branch.

Has anyone found another way of transferring AED?
You can do it via HSBC online (not app) with a fee. I have been trying different methods recently. Ive been moving AED to Dubai Commercial Bank and then converting to US$ at 3.68 and then pushing the $ to my Wise account then exchaging to £ or Euro. (Revolut wont accept $ from DCB)
UKMS is online now  
Old Oct 4th 2023, 10:43 am
  #26  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Oct 2023
Posts: 2
Averagegolfer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Anyone using Revolut in UAE?

Originally Posted by UKMS
You can do it via HSBC online (not app) with a fee. I have been trying different methods recently. Ive been moving AED to Dubai Commercial Bank and then converting to US$ at 3.68 and then pushing the $ to my Wise account then exchaging to £ or Euro. (Revolut wont accept $ from DCB)
Cheers
Averagegolfer is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.