Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Anyone have Skype connection issues?

Anyone have Skype connection issues?

Old Jun 26th 2015, 7:10 am
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
theramblingman is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Anyone have Skype connection issues?

Hi all,

The frustration of a glitchy Skype connection is really getting to me! I know Skype can be temperamental but I've tried other video call services and they don't seem to be much better. I'm talking about PC-PC calls by the way (I read some of Skypes other services are restricted here).

I'm based in Dubai, with Du on a 16mbps/4mbps package, using my laptop with wifi connection. Will buying a cable make any difference?

Any other tips?

Cheers,
Stephen
theramblingman is offline  
Old Jun 26th 2015, 8:03 am
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
calman014's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 716
calman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone have Skype connection issues?

Hello, it depends how reliable your wi-fi connection to the router is, but yes a direct cable to your router/modem can block out wi-fi interference, then it's just down to the quality of your connection. Skype calls often drop (even if you have a paid subscription unfortunately) but if you hang up and restart the call you quite often end up with a more stable and better quality call. Microsoft is now owner of Skype, but they still haven't done much to the core structure to get rid of the bugs. If you still have problems try addressing this in "The Lab" section of the forum. Maybe there's somebody in your area who can give further tips.
calman014 is offline  
Old Jun 26th 2015, 9:14 am
  #3  
Hit 16's
 
Bahtatboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Of all the gin joints, in all the towns, in all the world, she walks into mine
Posts: 13,112
Bahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond reputeBahtatboy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone have Skype connection issues?

I've more or less given up on Skype--not sure if it's the internet here (which isn't great) or Skype itself, but I now talk on Messenger on my iPhone and iPad, and it's generally very good. Skype is awful on my iPhone, and slightly less awful on my iPad.
Bahtatboy is offline  
Old Jun 26th 2015, 9:27 am
  #4  
BE Forum Addict
 
Tockalosh's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Up on the Ranches not down on the Springs
Posts: 2,109
Tockalosh has a reputation beyond reputeTockalosh has a reputation beyond reputeTockalosh has a reputation beyond reputeTockalosh has a reputation beyond reputeTockalosh has a reputation beyond reputeTockalosh has a reputation beyond reputeTockalosh has a reputation beyond reputeTockalosh has a reputation beyond reputeTockalosh has a reputation beyond reputeTockalosh has a reputation beyond reputeTockalosh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone have Skype connection issues?

No dramas with Skype from the ranches on 16/4. Rarely have an issue and of course I never forget it's free.
Tockalosh is offline  
Old Jun 26th 2015, 10:41 am
  #5  
Just Joined
 
Bitzer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: London, Sydney, Riyadh, Qassim, Singapore
Posts: 15
Bitzer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Anyone have Skype connection issues?

Try Vsee (vsee.com). It's designed for remote and bad connections.

I have a dodgy connection here in the middle of KSA and I can put Skype and Vsee up at the same time and compare quality - while Skype is pixellated and audio sounds like Max Headroom, Vsee is running like TV. Free, easy to install/run and simple to invite others to sign on.
Bitzer is offline  
Old Jun 28th 2015, 7:57 am
  #6  
"Insert witty title here"
 
Irishbeekeeper's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: dxb
Posts: 2,244
Irishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone have Skype connection issues?

Originally Posted by theramblingman View Post
Hi all,

The frustration of a glitchy Skype connection is really getting to me! I know Skype can be temperamental but I've tried other video call services and they don't seem to be much better. I'm talking about PC-PC calls by the way (I read some of Skypes other services are restricted here).

I'm based in Dubai, with Du on a 16mbps/4mbps package, using my laptop with wifi connection. Will buying a cable make any difference?

Any other tips?

Cheers,
Stephen
yep, been on Du in the office for over 3 years now and its always been like that. You can text chat in skype all you want to but voip or video chat is blocked as far as my connection is concerned. The call goes through all right, but sometimes no sound or video at all or sometimes it is so so so bad that you just give up.
On the other hand I have Etisalat at home and skype works perfectly for me there.
And Viber is vice versa btw ...wont work on Etisalat and will work on Du.

Oh fyi, google talk works great on Du. I know its a crappy interface and I HATE the fact that google are trying to ram their sh**ty 'hangouts' thing down your throat by making sure you can only use it with google chrome but hey...it works on Du atleast so there you go
Irishbeekeeper is offline  
Old Jun 28th 2015, 8:09 am
  #7  
Big Member
 
NorthernLad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,857
NorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone have Skype connection issues?

I'm on Du at home (24Mbps) and Skype works fine, no issues at all (over wifi).

I've never had any issues with Skype here that I can remember.

Last week there did seem to be some internet performance issues, my torrents were showing ETA of days as opposed to minutes, but it looks to have been resolved now.
NorthernLad is offline  
Old Jun 28th 2015, 9:02 am
  #8  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
theramblingman is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Anyone have Skype connection issues?

I tried the cable and I thought it helped a little at first, but then still had terrible connection at times so I don't think the wifi is the issue.

I'll give Google talk a try, but don't think that'll help for my chats to China (as far as I know Google products/services are banned there). For China I tried their version called QQ International. Seemed a little better but the connection was still so bad after a while we had to give up.

Thanks for all the tips! I'll keep trying...
theramblingman is offline  
Old Jul 4th 2015, 6:31 pm
  #9  
BE Enthusiast
 
Dubaiexile's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Dubai
Posts: 990
Dubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond reputeDubaiexile has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone have Skype connection issues?

I use WeChat for video calls to my wife in China, never any problems and crystal clear as well on my phone....and it is free!
Dubaiexile is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.