Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

after some advice please

after some advice please

Old Apr 17th 2008, 9:33 am
Just Joined

rowls.. is an unknown quantity at this point
Default after some advice please

Hi, been viewing this site for a while now and am after a bit of advice..

I’m a 23 year old single bloke, thinking of moving to Dubai.. I work as a quantity surveyor so should be ok to get a job, what I want 2 know really is if there’s much of a social scene for people my age over there? I don’t really want to get there and find it’s mostly older couples and familys.. with nobody to go out on the town with.. and nobody to pull for that matter

Also what time of year would you say it’s best to move over there? I was thinking September time, from what I’ve read the rugby season starts at this time of year so it’d be a good place to meet people.. but I’ve also seen mentioned somewhere it’s better to go april for tax reasons, can anyone fill me in on this?

Thanks in advance for any advice..

Matt
Old Apr 17th 2008, 9:48 am
BE Enthusiast

Bonny Boy has much to be proud ofBonny Boy has much to be proud ofBonny Boy has much to be proud ofBonny Boy has much to be proud ofBonny Boy has much to be proud ofBonny Boy has much to be proud ofBonny Boy has much to be proud ofBonny Boy has much to be proud ofBonny Boy has much to be proud ofBonny Boy has much to be proud ofBonny Boy has much to be proud of
Default Re: after some advice please

Amongst other criteria, to be considered Non-Resident UK, and hence the possibility of no UK tax on your overseas income, you have to be out of the UK for a complete tax year.

If you come for the long haul, when you arrive doesn't really matter. However, if you say arrive just after the start of one tax year, and return just before the end of the next, you will have been here for nearly two years, but not one complete tax year, and hence will not be Non Resident.