British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Middle East (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/)
-   -   Accepted Job offer in Qatar, what next ? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/accepted-job-offer-qatar-what-next-916027/)

BritishIndianExpat Aug 13th 2018 3:41 pm

Accepted Job offer in Qatar, what next ?

Hello Expats - I have just accepted a job offer in Qatar, I work in IT and the offer which was all inclusive = double my net income(not gross) in the UK so hoping that I made the right decision here ?
Its early stages now - I've just sent my documents for legalisation in the UK and building my knowledge on Qatar. Hoping to get some feedback from all of you on these questions, this will certainly help me being prepared.

1. Unconscious racial bias - This exists everywhere, its just human nature but to me being brown and Brit it hits you in the face the moment one steps outside the UK. Not sure how many of you are on the same boat as me, if you can share your experience in Qatar on this basis as I learn it has a huge labour force from India.

2. Document stamps formalities - I am going at it alone and not using any agencies so hoping to get this right myself first time, good idea? My sponsor has only asked for police clearance and degree cert attested by FCO UK and Qatar Embassy for myself. Should I be getting the same for my wife and birth certificate for the kids attested as well for dependant visa? or is it different when the company does it for you ?