British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Middle East (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/)
-   -   Abu Dhabi Mortgage Advice Required! (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/abu-dhabi-mortgage-advice-required-509875/)

ImAsKinG Jan 28th 2008 9:15 pm

Abu Dhabi Mortgage Advice Required!

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to not only forums but will also be new to Abu Dhabi within 4 weeks or so. I'm conscious that I will have to rent for some time but I have the aim of buying a property in the city as soon as possible.

Up until now, I've been unable to find the right answers to my questions and I'm hoping you experienced expats can help. I'm basically trying to get a handle on what I can roughly expect to be granted with regards to a mortgage in relation to my salary.

As many of you will be familiar, the 2 rules of thumb in the UK is a bank will loan you 3.5-4x (sometimes more if you know someone) your salary or you should be dedicating 33% to payments towards a property.

Naturally, there's a difference because I'll be earning a tax free income. I might be able to explain my logic better with some equations and perhaps you guys can tell me if I'm way off or not.

Using a 4x salary amount, here's what I could afford in the UK.

Down Payment = £30,000
Salary = £33,750
Salary x 4 = £135,000
Loan + Down Payment = £165,000

In actuality, I'm netting £23,460 after tax and nat. ins., so technically, the mortgage I can afford in terms of my net salary =

£135,000 / £23,460 = 5.75x available net income.

Are you with me? Now, having decided to move to the UAE I'm getting a big salary bump and obviously the tax free benefits. Here are my new assumptions based on those of the UK

Down Payment £30,000 (or Dhs equiv.)
Salary = £47,000
Salary x 5.75 i.e. available net income = £270,250
Loan + Down Payment = £300,250

I know the UAE require home insurance and registration or whatever but is my thinking way off here or is this reasonable??