British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Middle East (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/)
-   -   54 year old male moving to Dubai (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/54-year-old-male-moving-dubai-863149/)

Tockalosh Aug 9th 2015 6:54 pm

Re: 54 year old male moving to Dubai

Originally Posted by BOGO (Post 11719875)
Hi guys,

I'm very new to this, but I finally graduate from university in a month and I will be moving to Dubai to start a new Job in October. I have no idea what to expect so was wondering if you guys could let me know what there is to do over there. Ive never been over there so I am wondering what sort of things are there to do? and how easy is it to meet people and make friends?
Also being single, whats it like meeting ladies out there (around my age).
I have obviously heard and seen about cars out there and I am wondering what chances/choices I have of getting a car.
I am very excited about this but also very nervous at the same time and I'm looking forward to hearing what you guys think.

Thanks 54 year old Male

First thing to do given your age is buy a racing bicycle and some bright Lycra and head to the ranches on a weekend. You'll find lots of like minded chums.
As for the ladies, well at your age you may find a few bored housewives but I guess they would want someone a little younger. Plenty of young flippers so all is not lost

scrubbedexpat141 Aug 10th 2015 4:51 am

What degree have you done that's taken 30years? :rofl:

What are you coming out here to do?

Car - depends entirely on you. Can get car loans to buy new and second hand, loads of cars change hands regularly because it's such a transient place.

Bahtatboy Aug 10th 2015 7:00 am