Yanks Welcome?

Old Jun 24th 2010, 7:15 pm
Just Joined

WannaGetOut is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Yanks Welcome?

I'm a Yank looking to get out of here for a bit since all we seem to be able to do is create "crisis" after "crisis"... hoping to get some insight/advice from you folks... and of course who doesn't wanna get a tax-free income for a bit..

I have applied online many times like many of the poster on here, with the same results... I am open to Saudi, Qatar or the UAE although it seems the job market isn't very inviting in Dubai. I currently work as a finance manager with a total of 6-7 yrs experience, at the corporate office of a fortune 500 hospitality company and was wondering what I'd have to do to make my way out to Saudi? Are LinkedIn and personal connections pretty much my best shot at securing a good opportunity? My company has opportunities in the region but they would be working in hotels and I feel that may end up being career limiting... I have a BBA in finance but no CPA or MBA... Ive been thinking of pursuing one of the two... I'm married and have a 1.5 yr old boy...

I'd love to get your thoughts...
Old Jun 25th 2010, 7:54 am
Account Closed

Ethos83 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Yanks Welcome?

There are Americans in Dubai and Abu Dhabi. The British/South Africans form the two largest western expat communities but the number of Americans is decent. No American I've met here (and I have American citizenship as well) have ever experienced problems being Americans, although it's sensible not to be overtly in your face American. I never see the American flag sticker on anyone's cars unlike the English or Scottish or SA stickers.

Economy is lousy here as anywhere. I can't offer much more help beyond that. Other posters may offer suggestions.
Old Jun 25th 2010, 8:09 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace