New - Looking to relocate

Old Mar 6th 2010, 5:18 am
Just Joined

courboy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default New - Looking to relocate

Hello,

I am new to the forum and looking to move to Dubai. I have 2 years experience trading credit derivatives at a london hedge fund and last year studied a masters in real estate finance, to move sectors. I have since been working at a major property developer in london and would ideally like to work in real estate fund management.

What are the possibilities for this in Dubai, taking into account the recent market? My work experience should be geared towards this as I have a finance background but know about property too.

Also, what are the working hours like compared to the UK? I know they are longer, but how much longer would be typical?

Looks like a thoroughly good forum to gather information from and I hope to be able to post more in the coming weeks.

Regards,
Old Mar 6th 2010, 5:35 pm
Concierge

Blue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New - Looking to relocate

obviously the current climate here is no going to do you any favours, if you have a job in the UK I would stick with it until things pick up here. The standard working week in accordance with the UAE Labour Law is 48 hrs per week.
Old Mar 6th 2010, 8:11 pm
Just Joined

Thanks for that. So would you say the problems in Dubai don't look like improving for a while? It's hard to gauge without being there, the UK press tries to knock any sign of recovery but the UAE press (IMO) seems to be extremely bias.
Old Mar 6th 2010, 8:59 pm
BE Enthusiast