Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East > ME Job Discussions
Reload this Page >

Job Offer in Qatar - Please Help!

Job Offer in Qatar - Please Help!

Old Mar 30th 2015, 8:45 am
Just Joined

londonandconfused is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Job Offer in Qatar - Please Help!

Hi All,

Firstly, I would like to apologise for yet another generic post but also thank you in advance for any subsequent advice and help - it is much appreciated.

Ok... I'm a 26 year old single guy (no long term ties) and living in London and working in the private equity investment industry (c. 4 years post university experience). I have an undergraduate degree and an MSc - both from good UK universities.

I'm currently on a salary of £60K - £70k per anum in London gross / before tax (the range is because it is an 'all in' compensation and dependent on discretionary bonus performance).

I have been offered a job at a very reputable investment bank in Doha and have been offered the following package:

QR. 27,000 per month (plus bonus which I've been told will be 50% - 100% of base salary - it's the nature of industry where bonus remuneration is discretionary so no guarantees on that front unfortunately).

Therefore, this salary works out at:

Base: £60,000 pa (net)

All in salary with bonus @ 50%: £90,000 pa (net)
All in salary with bonus @ 75%: £105,000 pa (net)
All in salary with bonus @ 100%: £120,000 pa (net)

I guess I have the following questions:

1) Given what I'm earning in London and my age / experience to date - is this package considered worthy of a move and is the new offer in Qatar competitive? Would it allow me to save yet also have a comfortable lifestyle?

2) Without meaning to cause any disrespect whatsoever; I've heard Doha is souless and boring. Would someone of my age who has a busy social life in London go mad there?