Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East > ME Job Discussions
Reload this Page >

Dubai/Abu Dhabi or Riyadh??

Dubai/Abu Dhabi or Riyadh??

Old Nov 23rd 2010, 8:38 pm
Account Closed

Coopersda is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Dubai/Abu Dhabi or Riyadh??

Hi All

Short term lurker, and newbie here and am desperately in need of advice from the expat pros! All the google-ising the subject to death, my head is hurting and the propaganda /B.S. that comes out of 'official' UAE sources is hard to filter out..

I have been through an interview process for a MAJOR blue chip kind of company, (I'd prefer not to say) and they absolutley want me out in Dubai to work out of this and the Abu Dhabi office out there and are just sorting out making an offer..

As far as I can find out the basic is £51k/£52k + package (again no final offer through but I am hoping this includes accom, car, health, insurance, flights, if not then I am not interested as I know it isn't enough!)

I have seen the breakdowns on this forum of how far the Dubai salary will go (not far) so I am hopefully banking on getting more UAE experience and a pay rise soon...are pay rises still happening?

Also consider my partner will be coming with me and could possibly get a job in Dubai/AD, no guarantees though....or she can come with me to Riyadh and live in the dark ages.....

Now, another company, not quite as massive etc are interested in me too, but this is looking like around £65k and possibly a package on top too similar to above. But they are in Riyadh.

My query?

Which is the better offer if I want to save money to send home? Will I actually save enough to make the Riyadh position worth while or will I end up regretting Riyadh as I have heard it is dangerous and there is NO lifestyle out there whatsoever so will probably be going on hugely expensive holidays to make up for it!.

Industry: construction.

Thanks for advice and help

Coopersda
Old Nov 24th 2010, 5:07 am