British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   ME Job Discussions (https://britishexpats.com/forum/me-job-discussions-136/)
-   -   Assistant Prof (Economics) KSA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/me-job-discussions-136/assistant-prof-economics-ksa-930739/)

masterkb Jan 30th 2020 11:11 am

Assistant Prof (Economics) KSA

Dear All,
Good day. I am an African living in Africa. I have a PhD and 2 years of postdoc experience. I have this job offer from a university in Jeddah with the following:
- duration: 1-year renewable contract
- research: 4 publications (per year) in ISI indexed journals in the field
- teaching 14 credit hours per semester
- salary: SAR 12 120 per month
- housing allowance: SAR 25 000 per year
- furniture allowance: SAR 12 500 (applicable to the first year)
- medicals: university hospital provided
- leave: 60 days paid leave per year
- others: administrative duties may be assigned.

Kindly advise me on this offer. Is the salary OK based on my experience and qualification? What about accommodation? I have a maximum of 6 days to respond to the letter.

Thanks a lot.

Charl01 Jan 30th 2020 11:36 am

Re: Assistant Prof (Economics) KSA

That is about on par with current salaries teaching at the university ….

masterkb Jan 30th 2020 11:44 am

Thank you, Charl01.
How about accommodation in Jeddah, how expensive is it? Is it very likely to get renewal of the contract in Saudi? I have reservations about the annual publication requirements too. I
I appreciate your thought

Charl01 Jan 30th 2020 11:48 am

Originally Posted by masterkb (Post 12798493)
Thank you, Charl01.
How about accommodation in Jeddah, how expensive is it? Is it very likely to get renewal of the contract in Saudi? I have reservations about the annual publication requirements too. I
I appreciate your thought