Where to start people?

Old Jan 19th 2011, 1:59 pm
Just Joined

chrissie12 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Where to start people?

hey every1

I am a bit confused on a few things here, I'll give u a rough background first off.

I live in N.Ireland, I'm a mature student that is studying @ uni after I finish I have in mind to move to the states with my partner, (I do have relatives living there e.g. Aunt + Uncle.)
I know, they cannot sponsor me because they arent my immediate relatives.

So what are my options here? bear in mind I'm doing an archaeology degree and there arent many archaeology jobs in Minnesota ( I thought it would be better to have a degree in order to move to USA) , however graduates can go right into management graduate programmes that will ensure employment e.g. retail stores, etc. (This I have checked ) I have worked in retail the majority of my life so that would contribute. Also I have a trade in Beauty Therapy. Yep jack of all trades

What type of visa would I be able to go for?
How long would a visa take? 2-3 yrs?
What is the deal with a green card, would my partner and I be able to apply for 1?
Would I have to get married to my partner first prior to applying for a Visa?
Old Jan 19th 2011, 2:05 pm
SUPER MODERATOR

Jerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Where to start people?

Originally Posted by chrissie12
hey every1

I am a bit confused on a few things here, I'll give u a rough background first off.