Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > Marriage Based Visas
Reload this Page >

Marrying someone on disabilty allowance

Marrying someone on disabilty allowance

Old Sep 12th 2009, 3:09 pm
Just Joined

Pat28 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Marrying someone on disabilty allowance

Hi all. I just heard something that really disturbed me and so I joined this forum to find some support/advice hopefully.

Just last week after many years of "not a good idea" thing, we decided to get married. We informed close friends and family and a friend who is from the UK told me I may have a problem since my boyfriend is on disability and there is no way I will get a visa since he can not prove he can support me.

He is an intelligent educated person who has some unexpected seisures and so can not work, but otherwise nothing else wrong with him. Yes he is on meds but again, I don't understand. If I work, I am a professor, he has his own house, no mortgage, how can they refuse us? This would be a big discrimination, don't you think?

Please any input at all. I didn't tell him this yet as this would upset him greatly, but I can't believe that they could refuse us if we can prove that we can live quite fine. If he wored and had to pay mortgage, he would have less equity left anyhow.

Please help.
Thanks.
Old Sep 12th 2009, 3:42 pm
Account Closed

ian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Marrying someone on disabilty allowance

Originally Posted by Pat28