Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > Marriage Based Visas
Reload this Page >

K1 (fiance) in Prague or Bratislava?

Wikiposts

K1 (fiance) in Prague or Bratislava?

Old Sep 25th 2002, 9:57 pm
Peter

Default K1 (fiance) in Prague or Bratislava?

Which US Embassy handles K1 (fiance) applications for Slovak citizens:
Prague or Bratislava?

And sorry for being a newbee, do both of us have to be present at the
interview, or is the presence of just the sponsored party sufficient?

Old Sep 26th 2002, 2:47 am
Account Closed

Folinskyinla is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: K1 (fiance) in Prague or Bratislava?

Originally posted by Peter:
Which US Embassy handles K1 (fiance) applications for Slovak citizens:
Prague or Bratislava?

And sorry for being a newbee, do both of us have to be present at the
interview, or is the presence of just the sponsored party sufficient?
Hi:

I'm an immigration lawyer who has been practicing for a long long time in Los Angeles.

Nationality has nothing to do with place of application -- it is place of residence. But if your beloved is in the Slovak Republic, he has to go to Prague; Bratislava does not do K visas. See http//:travel.state.gov and drill down through "visa reciprocity tables" which is a great source of current information.

On your second question, I will bow to my professorial instincts and give a reason for the law: the K-1 visa was added to the law in 1970 so to avoid the necessity of having the US citizen travel abroad just for the purpose of getting married.

If you do chose to accompany your beloved to the interview, you should be aware that not all consular posts will ALLOW you to be present at the interview. Some posts will not even allow you in the building for secuity reasons! [This true of attorneys also!]. I don't know about Prague -- it pays to check in advance.