Intro!

Old Feb 3rd 2012, 11:49 am
Just Joined

britinnola is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Intro!

Hi all!

This is my first post on BE and want to say hello and help!!

I'm a Brit, working in the Middle East and engaged to an American chap...I'm taking a career break for a short while and intend on staying in our home in New Orleans on a 90 day visa waiver.

Firstly, are there any British groups/scene in NOLA?
Secondly, can I marry my fiancee in the US on my current visa status or do I have to apply to marry him in the US?

Apologies for sounding naive, I'm very new to all this!

Thanks in advance for any help/advice!
Old Feb 3rd 2012, 11:55 am

penguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Intro!

Hi

We will probably move this over to the marriage visa section later but wanted to at least say hello first.

Basically, you are not supposed to get married while on the Visa Waiver Program. In reality, it does happen, but there are people who have run into problems doing this when they seek a formal adjustment of status. If you just want to get married to be married, go ahead--head to Vegas. But if you are looking to get married to change your status and remain, then you should do some digging into the problems that might surround that. The folks in the marriage visa section have some good advice on that point.

As for Brits in NOLA, you can check meetup.com as that's a great resource. I'm sure some who are actually down there will write more in a bit once they wake up.

Welcome

Last edited by penguinsix; Feb 3rd 2012 at 11:59 am.