Impending Interview in London

Wikiposts

Impending Interview in London

Old Jul 24th 2008, 11:27 am
Just Joined

Jadesam is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Impending Interview in London

Hi All,
I'm awaiting confirmation of date for my interview in London and would like to get some info on what to expect and how to prepare for a possible filing of a I-601. My background is as follows:
UKC married to USC; Lived in the US as a temporary resident while a bone fide application for asylum was pending. Left US in late teens but then returned on the VWP and 'overstayed'. Honestly at the time I wasnt really clued into the legal implications of overstaying or else I wouldnt have. Nevertheless, during this period of 'overstay', the asylum application was still pending, and no order for deportation had been issued. I left the US eventually to reside in the UK in 2002 and since travelled back and forth to the States with no problem. That was until last year when, after marrying my spouse I tried to reenter the US only to be told that since I had overstayed in 2002 while on the VWP, I was now barred from using it. As result, my spouse and I decided to begin filing the I-130 which has now been approved and I am now awaiting my interview here in London.
So back to the reason why I'm writing. Knowing the overstay is likely to be an issue at the interview, what possible ammunition do I have/could I use at the interview to help my case? Or should I just expect the visa to be denied and an appeal required? Could I mention the fact that the asylum petition was still pending? Would that work in my favour? Furthermore, if we have to go down the appeal route, are there any others out there who have had success overturning a denied visa due to overstay?

Your assistance would be much appreciated.
Jade
Old Jul 24th 2008, 11:40 am