Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > Marriage Based Visas
Reload this Page >

Immigration to USA - civil partnership same as marriage for green card?

Immigration to USA - civil partnership same as marriage for green card?

Old Dec 16th 2015, 6:20 am
Just Joined

LA2016 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Immigration to USA - civil partnership same as marriage for green card?

I'm a newbie on here and this is my first post!

I'm a UK citizen and just over 5 years ago my same-sex partner (a US citizen) came to the UK and we entered into our civil partnership.

During this time we've lived very happily in the UK, but would now like to do the reverse, i.e. I go through the process to get a green card, starting with form I-130 Petition for Alien Relative (which my partner will have to complete as he is the US citizen and sponsor me).

I've had conflicting advice as to whether our civil partnership qualifies me as 'spouse' - or whether we have to actually get married (when we had our civil partnership the UK did not have same sex marriage) - can anyone advise on this?

I'm concerned that if we do get married now, that will essentially reset the clock on the past 5 years - so I'm quite confused on this point. I did read on another forum that if we do get married it is backdated to the date of the civil partnership, but I'm not sure on this.

Also, when my partner started the process to come to the UK, we used an excellent agent, based in the US, to help us through the process.

Does anyone have a recommendation for someone to handle the reverse back to the USA, and is it better to get one based in the UK or USA?

Would really appreciate any pointers - I'm starting to get a little stressed as I know it can take between 6-9 months to go through the process and am keen to start soon.

Many thanks for any help.
Old Dec 16th 2015, 12:10 pm
Account Closed