Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > Marriage Based Visas
Reload this Page >

i-864W question (new Social Security setback)

i-864W question (new Social Security setback)

Old Jun 11th 2012, 10:27 pm
Just Joined

jennarandhayes is an unknown quantity at this point
Default i-864W question (new Social Security setback)

Hi all,
This is my first time posting, so thanks in advance for any advice you can give. I am a U.S. citizen and my husband (of 9 years) is a U.K. citizen. My husband and I met in the U.S. (he was a resident for 20 years) and have been living in the U.K. for the past 2 years. We decided in March that we wanted to move back to the U.S. but had somehow missed the "fine print" that said that my husband could not live outside of the U.S. for more than a year, otherwise he abandons his residency. Now we are going through the long, frustrating, costly process of the i130.
We applied for the i130 visa in March 2012 and received our notice of receipt on April 13th, 2012. We have all of our paperwork filled out in anticipation of our approval, that is, except for the i-864. My husband worked and paid taxes in the U.S. for nearly 20 years and has earned more than the 40 credits required to the i-864W, however the form requires that you send a copy of your SSA earnings statement. It used to be that Social Security sent a yearly earnings statement to all U.S. residents who filed taxes that year, but when we called the Social Security office they said that as of 2012 they no longer send earnings statements due to budget cuts (and the cost of paper/mailing).