Reload this Page >

Future Dr. moving to US

Future Dr. moving to US

Old Jan 3rd 2019, 5:01 pm
Just Joined

Scot92 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Future Dr. moving to US

Hi all,

I've been a distant follower of the forum for a while now, but recently got engaged to my American S/O & it now looks like it's time to start approaching the immigration hurdle. I was hoping some of you kind folks wouldn't mind answering a few of our questions.

Background:
  • I'm a 3rd year medical student in the UK, due to graduate in the summer of 2021; currently studying for the necessary medical boards to apply to US residency
  • My S/O lives in the US with an adequate salary to meet the financial aspects of an application with regards to support etc.
  • We are planning to marry in the US in summer 2020, and be together by summer 2021 (when I graduate)
    • This is in order to give us 10-12 months, in the event we need to go the CR1 route after our wedding so that I can work as soon as I touch down
We are aware that there are 2 routes to moving to the USA via marriage i.e. fiancee via (K1) or spouse visa (CR1). Although, I guess our questions are:
  1. Can I use the VWP to get married (I'd likely be in country doing some sort of elective anyway) & then head home after to go though the CR1 process?
    • I have to return to the UK after our wedding regardless to complete my final year anyway, & I am presuming this is the best route that would allow me to move to the US immediately upon graduation & be allowed to work as soon as I touch the soil (I graduate late June 2021 & most residencies start July 1st I believe so not sure there would be time for adjustments of status etc. there)?
  2. Is it possible to go the K1 route in time for 2020 & submit an adjustment of status in the US while being back in the UK in my final year - I presume that's completely impossible while being out of country but just wanted to make sure?