British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Marriage Based Visas (https://britishexpats.com/forum/marriage-based-visas-35/)
-   -   Citizenship (https://britishexpats.com/forum/marriage-based-visas-35/citizenship-694092/)

shepslady Nov 19th 2010 4:06 am

Citizenship

Hi to everyone,
Been a long time since I stopped by to visit. Ive now been married for 8 1/2 years & life is still amazing. So much has happened in tha time. To those of you who remember me I am happy to say that one of my sons met & married a lovely girl form Nebraska on one of his visits here they have now been married for 5 years & have three beautiful children. I have been working at ou local hospital for the past 4 years & in the past year I have had two surgeries on my shoulder. Ive seen one of my brother inlaws go through a painful divorce & on a brighter side Ive seen my husband & his baby brother reunite with the brother they had been estranged from for more than 12 years. Live is good. Hope things are well for all of you too.

What I need your imput on is Citizenship. While Ive been eligible for a few years now its something Ive thought long & hard about. I have read up on it & want to know if I hav e read it correctly. If I take US Citizenship does that mean I have to give up my NZCitizenship? I read it that no I dont but Im not 100% sure that Ive read it right or understood everything Ive read.

I value all advice that you can offer.

Shepslady

Noorah101 Nov 19th 2010 4:20 am

Re: Citizenship

Well hello there, Miss Shepslady! So nice to see you again, and congratulations on all your news!

No, you do not have to give up your NZ citizenship...you become a dual citizen of both NZ and USA. :)

Life is good here too...coming up on my 7th wedding anniversary in April 2011...time really flies! Sadegh became a USC last year, too.

Rene

rpjs Nov 19th 2010 6:31 am

Originally Posted by shepslady (Post 8991103)