Reload this Page >

British guy with pregnant American GF

British guy with pregnant American GF

Old Apr 22nd 2019, 3:25 pm
Just Joined

SC16 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default British guy with pregnant American GF

Hi, I was hoping for some advice.

In a scenario not too dissimilar to what happened to Ross and Rachel in Friends. My long distance girlfriend of 4 years (I live in London, she lives in Maryland) is pregnant and the baby is due in November.
We are both 27 and neither of us can legally live in the other persons country.

Before the news had broke out my plan was to move over to the US for 3 months on a travel visa at the start of June and look for work over in Maryland/Virginia (and propose to her). I have a Masters in Mechanical Engineering and am soon to become a Chartered Engineer and have 4 years experience in the rail industry. I understand it is extremely difficult for a non-US citizen to get a job in America but had hoped that maybe being over in person I could get lucky?

Anyway, I want to be over to support her ASAP and especially want to be over there for the birth of our child.

I don't know what route to take is best: I understand the K-1 fiance visa could get me over quickly but not being able to work and having to financially support a child seems infeasible. The CR-1 option seems like it takes a lot of time and I won't be there for the birth of my child. Quitting my job to look for work seems a huge risk, but the biggest reward.

Conversely, I could move her over to the UK on a marriage visa (I believe it only takes a matter of weeks) until my US visa gets approved? However this scenario does seem costly.

What would everyone's advice be and what do you believe is the best scenario for success for us as a family - the amount of uncertainty is very unnerving!

(PS my younger sister, 26, has a US passport as she was born there but I got told it takes years for a sibling visa to get approved?)

Thanks!
Old Apr 22nd 2019, 3:36 pm