Belfast or London?

Old Jan 7th 2014, 11:40 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Roberrrt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Belfast or London?

I live in York, UK.

Which is the best consulate to use, Belfast or London?

For efficiency and quickness?

We're applying for K3 visa and we've just sent of the I-130 today.

Thanks,
Robert and Monique
Roberrrt is offline  
Old Jan 7th 2014, 11:49 pm
  #2  
Often not so civil...
 
civilservant's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: The Boonies, GA
Posts: 8,469
civilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Belfast or London?

Um... a K3 requires an I-129, a CR1 requires an I-130.

So which are you actually applying for?
civilservant is offline  
Old Jan 7th 2014, 11:52 pm
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Roberrrt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Belfast or London?

No, you have to send the I-130 off first.
Roberrrt is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2014, 12:01 am
  #4  
Hoppity hop...
 
BunnyGirl's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 1,348
BunnyGirl has a reputation beyond reputeBunnyGirl has a reputation beyond reputeBunnyGirl has a reputation beyond reputeBunnyGirl has a reputation beyond reputeBunnyGirl has a reputation beyond reputeBunnyGirl has a reputation beyond reputeBunnyGirl has a reputation beyond reputeBunnyGirl has a reputation beyond reputeBunnyGirl has a reputation beyond reputeBunnyGirl has a reputation beyond reputeBunnyGirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Belfast or London?

Originally Posted by Roberrrt View Post
No, you have to send the I-130 off first.
Ummm, no. The K3 requires an I-129F. A CR1 requires an I-130.
BunnyGirl is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2014, 12:12 am
  #5  
MODERATOR
 
Noorah101's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 58,287
Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Belfast or London?

Originally Posted by civilservant View Post
Um... a K3 requires an I-129...
I-129F. After the receipt of I-130.

Rene
Noorah101 is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2014, 12:13 am
  #6  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Roberrrt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Belfast or London?

I'm not filing a fiance visa, I'm filing as a spouse.

Can someone answer my original question please?
Roberrrt is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2014, 12:14 am
  #7  
MODERATOR
 
Noorah101's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 58,287
Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Belfast or London?

Originally Posted by Roberrrt View Post
I live in York, UK.

Which is the best consulate to use, Belfast or London?

For efficiency and quickness?

We're applying for K3 visa and we've just sent of the I-130 today.

Thanks,
Robert and Monique
You may or may not end up doing a K-3 process. You can file an I-129F if you want to, towards a K-3, but if the I-130 moves fast enough, NVC will go with that, and will throw out the I-129F when it comes in. If that's the case, you will end up doing an Immigrant Visa process, so make sure you know how to do that. It won't be your choice...it will be up to NVC, and if they receive an approved I-130 before or at the same time as an approved I-129F, they will not process the I-129F towards a K-3.

That said, I don't know the answer to your question, whether Belfast even does Immigrant Visas or not. You can probably find out online.

Rene
Noorah101 is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2014, 12:16 am
  #8  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Roberrrt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Belfast or London?

Originally Posted by Noorah101 View Post
You may or may not end up doing a K-3 process. You can file an I-129F if you want to, towards a K-3, but if the I-130 moves fast enough, NVC will go with that, and will throw out the I-129F when it comes in. If that's the case, you will end up doing an Immigrant Visa process, so make sure you know how to do that. It won't be your choice...it will be up to NVC, and if they receive an approved I-130 before or at the same time as an approved I-129F, they will not process the I-129F towards a K-3.

That said, I don't know the answer to your question, whether Belfast even does Immigrant Visas or not. You can probably find out online.

Rene

Thanks Rene
Roberrrt is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2014, 12:16 am
  #9  
MODERATOR
 
Noorah101's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 58,287
Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Belfast or London?

Originally Posted by Roberrrt View Post
I'm not filing a fiance visa, I'm filing as a spouse.
Understood. Both the K-1 fiance visa AND the K-3 spouse visa make use of the I-129F form.

It might depend on which visa you end up going for. Take a look at the US Embassy in Belfast website and see if they even do Immigrant Visas. They might do K-3's, but if you end up doing an Immigrant Visa (which IMO you will), you'll want to know which embassy does them.

Rene
Noorah101 is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2014, 12:53 am
  #10  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Roberrrt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Belfast or London?

I'm pretty sure we did it all right.

Read things over and over again.
Roberrrt is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2014, 1:21 am
  #11  
MODERATOR
 
Noorah101's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 58,287
Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Belfast or London?

Originally Posted by Roberrrt View Post
I'm pretty sure we did it all right.

Read things over and over again.
The embassy in Belfast does not issue Immigrant visas: http://belfast.usconsulate.gov/immigrant-visas.html

It does issue non-immigrant visas, but it does not mention the K-3 on their non-immigrant page: http://belfast.usconsulate.gov/apply.html

Therefore, my assumption is that you'll be going to London no matter which visa you end up getting.

Rene
Noorah101 is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2014, 1:24 am
  #12  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Roberrrt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Belfast or London?

Originally Posted by Noorah101 View Post
The embassy in Belfast does not issue Immigrant visas: http://belfast.usconsulate.gov/immigrant-visas.html

It does issue non-immigrant visas, but it does not mention the K-3 on their non-immigrant page: http://belfast.usconsulate.gov/apply.html

Therefore, my assumption is that you'll be going to London no matter which visa you end up getting.

Rene
Yeah, cheers
Roberrrt is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2014, 2:12 pm
  #13  
Mouthy Yank
 
Speedwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,229
Speedwell has a reputation beyond reputeSpeedwell has a reputation beyond reputeSpeedwell has a reputation beyond reputeSpeedwell has a reputation beyond reputeSpeedwell has a reputation beyond reputeSpeedwell has a reputation beyond reputeSpeedwell has a reputation beyond reputeSpeedwell has a reputation beyond reputeSpeedwell has a reputation beyond reputeSpeedwell has a reputation beyond reputeSpeedwell has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Belfast or London?

We would gladly have gone through Belfast for my husband's CR-1 visa but they don't allow it for that visa type. The NVC attempted to send us through Dublin because some know-nothing saw "Northern Ireland" and made the usual clueless error. It's not permitted to file your I-130 paperwork as a UK citizen and then file for your visa as an Irish citizen, so we are lucky it got fixed promptly and he was processed through London as we intended. You could theoretically opt to file your I-130 through Dublin if you wished to be considered as an Irish citizen rather than a UK citizen, but you've already got the ball rolling with the UK application.
Speedwell is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2014, 3:50 pm
  #14  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Roberrrt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Belfast or London?

Originally Posted by Speedwell View Post
We would gladly have gone through Belfast for my husband's CR-1 visa but they don't allow it for that visa type. The NVC attempted to send us through Dublin because some know-nothing saw "Northern Ireland" and made the usual clueless error. It's not permitted to file your I-130 paperwork as a UK citizen and then file for your visa as an Irish citizen, so we are lucky it got fixed promptly and he was processed through London as we intended. You could theoretically opt to file your I-130 through Dublin if you wished to be considered as an Irish citizen rather than a UK citizen, but you've already got the ball rolling with the UK application.
Thanks
Roberrrt is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.