Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > Marriage Based Visas
Reload this Page >

Adjustment of Status and lost F1 visa

Adjustment of Status and lost F1 visa

Old Apr 10th 2016, 9:01 pm
Manchester born and bred

jsav has a reputation beyond reputejsav has a reputation beyond reputejsav has a reputation beyond reputejsav has a reputation beyond reputejsav has a reputation beyond reputejsav has a reputation beyond reputejsav has a reputation beyond reputejsav has a reputation beyond reputejsav has a reputation beyond reputejsav has a reputation beyond reputejsav has a reputation beyond repute
Default Adjustment of Status and lost F1 visa

I've asked plenty of questions on here before and the feedback I have received has been extremely helpful.

So, here's one more...or two.

I'm currently in the process of AoS from F1 to Permanent Resident. While I have been over here as a student I lost my passport with my F1 visa inside. I have photocopies of both and have all my other documentation (I-20, etc..). I also have a new passport.

Here's my question. When applying for AoS I know that I have to send in photocopies of my F1 visa. The problem is am I going to have to present proof of my physical visa at any potential interview? There will obviously be records of my F1 status here, but will this be a problem?

Also, when entering my passport number on the AoS form, should I put the my old/lost one (the one I last entered the country on), or my new one?

I'm just a little worried that this could cause a problem.

Thanks.

Last edited by jsav; Apr 10th 2016 at 9:18 pm.
Old Apr 10th 2016, 9:39 pm
Forum Regular