Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > The Maple Leaf
Reload this Page >

Citibank Closed my Credit Card Account

Citibank Closed my Credit Card Account

Old Apr 27th 2021, 11:23 pm
Forum Regular

Yasmina2005 will become famous soon enoughYasmina2005 will become famous soon enough
Default Citibank Closed my Credit Card Account

Hello,
I have an American Citibank credit card since I was a student there. When I moved to Canada, I gave them my new Canadian address. So, they have this Canadian address for over 8 years with no problems. I kept this card active by using it from time to time for certain things I buy in the US. The last times I used it was in February and March 2021.
  • No default ever in my payments. I always pay the minimum and over 90% of the times, I pay more than the minimum.
  • The balance in the account is $1600, which is only 1/4 of my credit limit.
Two days ago, I wanted to use my card and got denied. So, I called Citicards to inquire only to learn that they closed my account. The excuse they gave was that I have to have an American address. I told them the Canadian address you have is over 8 years in my account..It is not something new, and that I have this card for 15 years and as you can see from account, I always pay...Yet, no satisfying answers.
  • I found it stupid to close a customer's account while they still have to pay you back the balance...
My questions:
1- Is anybody here has a an American CITIBANK credit card while living in Canada and his/her CITI account has a Canadian address.

2- Please share your thoughts what to do especially that by them closing my account, their decision is affecting my credit history in the US. Let's not forget they did not give a damn about 15 years of business relationship, no default whatsoever about payments, Canadian address was on file for so many years with no prob. Why now???

Thank you

Last edited by Yasmina2005; Apr 27th 2021 at 11:26 pm.
Old Apr 28th 2021, 12:09 am